City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

“If I tried to send you through on my own, it would be in direct contravention of the Law, and I’m not willing to risk that for you, biscuit, no matter how much I like your personality.”

Magnus to Clary

“You’d better hurry up to the Gard and back. God knows what depravity we might get up to here without your guidance.”

Jace to Alec

“Did you ever think that in a past life Alec was an old woman with ninety cares who was always yelling at the neighborhood kids to get off her lawn? Because I do.”

Jace

“Aline!” Isabelle looked appalled. “You can’t just go around asking people what it’s like to be a vampire.”

Isabelle to Aline

“My Romanian is pretty much limited to useful phrases like, ‘Are these snakes poisonous?’ and ‘But you look much to young to be a police officer.'”

Jace

Mene mene tekel upharsin,” Jace said with a faint smile. “You don’t recognize it? It’s from the Bible, vampire. The old one. That’s your books, isn’t it?”

“Just because I’m Jewish doesn’t mean I’ve memorized the Old Testament.”

“It’s the Writing on the Wall. ‘God hath numbered thy kingdom, and brought it to an end; thou art weighed in the balance and found wanting.’ It’s a portent of doom- it means the end of an empire.”

“But what does that have to do with Valentine?”

“Not just Valentine,” said Jace. “All of us. The Clave and the Law- what Clary can do overturns everything they know to be true. No human being can create new runes, or draw the sort of runes Clary can. Only angels have that power. And since Clary can do that- well, it seems like a portent. Things are changing. The Laws are changing. The old ways may never be the right ways again. Just as the rebellion of the angels ended the world as it was- it split heaven in half and created hell- this could mean the end of the Nephilim as they currently exist. This is our war in heaven, vampire, and only one side can win it. And my father means it to be his.”

Jace & Simon

“I’m not here for me. I’m here for the girl. She’s dying.” As the woman stared at him, he said, “Amatis, please. She’s Jocelyn’s daughter.”

Luke

“Rich?” Simon said. “I thought all Shadowhunters got paid by the Clave. Like… I don’t know, communism or something.”

Simon to Samuel

“You’re not happy to see me, then?” Jace said. “I have to say, I’m surprised. I’ve always been told my presence brightened up any room. One might think that went doubly for dank underground cells.”

Jace to Simon

“It’s my cologne, Eau de Recent Injury.”

Jace to Simon

“You think you only want me because you’re evil, not human. You just want something else you can hate yourself for. I won’t let you use me to prove to yourself how worthless you are. “

Clary to Jace

Magnus looked at Alec as if he’d lost his mind. “Your city is under attack,” he said. “The wards have broken, and the streets are full of demons. And you want to know why I haven’t called you?”

Alec set his jaw in a stubborn line. “I want to know why you haven’t called me back.”

Alec & Magnus

“They didn’t,” Magnus said. “Your wards are down.”

“Really?” the Consul’s voice dripped with sarcasm. “I hadn’t noticed.”

Magnus looked concerned. ‘That’s terrible. Someone should have told you.” He glanced at Luke. “Tell him the wards are down.”

Magnus & the Consul

“There is no pretending,” Jace said with absolute clarity. “I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there’s a life after that, I’ll love you then.”

Jace to Clary

“Let me tell you something, Mom,” Clary said. “Knowing is better than not knowing. Every time.”

Clary to Jocelyn

“I wouldn’t change it,” Simon said. “I wouldn’t give up loving you. Not for anything. You know what Raphael told me? That I didn’t know how to be a good vampire, that vampires accept that they’re dead. But as long as I remember what it was like to love you, I’ll always feel like I’m alive.”

Simon to Clary

She looked out then, through the crowd, and saw Simon with the Lightwoods, looking at her across the empty space that separated them. It was the same way Jace had looked at her at the manor. It was the one thread that bound these two boys that she loved so much, she thought, their one commonality: They both believed in her even when she didn’t believe in herself.

Clary

“Where’s Alec, anyway? Why aren’t you off choosing him as your partner right now?”

Magnus seemed to wince. “I wouldn’t approach him with his parents there. You know that.”

Clary propped her chin on her hand. “Doing the right thing because you love someone sucks sometimes.”

“It does,” Magnus said, “at that.”

Clary & Magnus

“‘Therefore whosoever slayeth Cain, vengeance shall be taken on him sevenfold. And the Lord set a Mark upon Cain, lest any finding him should kill him.’ You can try to kill me, Raphael. But I wouldn’t advise it.”

Simon

“Weakness and corruption isn’t in the world,” Clary snapped. “It’s in people. And it always will be. The world just needs good people to balance it out. And you’re planning to kill them all.”

Clary to Malachi

“It’s not a scar. It’s a birthmark. There’s an old family legend about it, that one of the first Herondales to become a Shadowhunter was visited by an angel in a dream. The angel touched him on the shoulder, and when he woke up, he had a mark like that. And all his descendants have it as well.”

Amatis to Jace

 

One thought on “City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare | Code For Confession

Leave a Reply

