City of Bones by Cassandra Clare [Quotes]

“Meanwhile,” Simon added, “I wanted to tell you that lately I’ve been cross-dressing. Also, I’m sleeping with your mom. Though you should know.”

*

“I’m not really sleeping with your mom, you know. I was just trying to get your attention. Not that your mom isn’t a very attractive woman, for her age.”

*

Jace raised his head and smiled. There was something fierce about the gesture, something that reminded Clary of documentaries she’d watched about lions on the Discovery Channel, the way the big cats would raise their heads and sniff the air for prey.

*

“What would you do if you saw something nobody else could see?”

*

“Clary, you;re an artist, like your mother. that means you see the world in ways that other people don’t/ It’s your gift, to see the beauty and the horror in ordinary things. It doesn’t make you crazy- just different. There’s nothing wrong with being different.”

*

“Jesus!” Luke exclaimed.

“Actually, it’s just me,” said Simon. “Although I’ve been told the resemblance is startling.”

*

“Just coffee. Black- like my soul.”

*

“You’re not gay, are you?”

Simon’s greenish color deepened. “If I were, I would dress better.”

*

“And tell them what?” Jace said witheringly. “That invisible people are bothering you? Trust me, little girl, the police aren’t going to arrest someone they can’t see.”

*

“I was laughing at you because declarations of love amuse me, especially when unrequited,” he said. “And because your Simon is one of the most mundane mundanes I’ve ever encountered. And because Hodge thought you might be dangerous, but if you are, you certainly don’t know it.”

*

“Tell me, if he always really rude, or does he save that for mundanes?”

“Oh, he’s rude to everyone,” said Isabelle airily. “It’s what makes him so damn sexy. That, and he’s killed more demons than anyone else his age.”

*

“I should have warned her about your habit of never doing what you’re told.” Jace squinted at her. “Are those Isabelle’s clothes? They look ridiculous on you.”

*

“Unfortunately,” said Hodge,” we’re all out of bitter revenge at the moment, so it’s either tea or nothing.”

*

“Those don’t look like knives. How did you make them? Magic?”

Alec looked horrified, as if she’d asked him to put on a tutu and execute a perfect pirouette.

*

“You guessed? You must have been pretty sure, considering you could have killed me.”

He pressed a button on the wall, and the elevator lurched into action with a vibrating groan that she felt all through the bones in her feet. “I was ninety percent sure.”

“I see,” Clary said.

There must have been something in her voice, because he turned to look at her. Her hand cracked across his face, a slap that rocked him back on his heels. He put his hand to his cheek, more in surprise than in pain. “What the hell was that for?”

“The other ten percent.”

*

“Of course they are,” he said. “I am stunningly attractive.”

“Haven’t you ever heard that modesty is an attractive trait?”

“Only from ugly people.”

*

Parabatai,” said Jace. “it means a pair of warriors who fight together– who are closer than brothers. Alec is more than just my best friend. My father and his father were parabatai when they were young. His father was my godfather– that’s why I live with them. They’re my adopted family.”

*

“Cucumber and bergamot,” Clary said. “Is there anything else you hate that I ought to know about?”

Jace looked at Dorthea over the rim of his teacup. “Liars,” he said.

*

Sed lex dura lex,” said Jace automatically. “The Law is hard, but it is the Law.”

*

“Of course he didn’t know I was there,” Simon said irritably. “I’ve never asked him, but I’m sure he has a fairly stringent policy about random teenagers lurking in his shrubbery.”

*

“All the myths are true,” said Pangborn, and Clary felt a small shiver go up her spine. “Or have you forgotten even that?”

*

The laughter had gone from his voice entirely when he replied. “So I know them?” he echoed. “You might say that. Those are the men who murdered my father.”

*

“I thought it was a church.”

“It’s inside a church.”

“Because that’s not confusing.”

*

“JACE WAYLAND,” she said. “Explain yourself.”

Jace was glaring at the cat. “I told you to bring me to Alec! Backstabbing Judas.”

*

“Why are you always such as asshat?”

“An asshat?” Jace looked as if he were about to laugh.

*

I hereby render unconditional obedience to the Circle and it’s principles… I will be ready to risk my life at any time for the Circle, in order to preserve the bloodlines of Idris, and for the mortal world whose safety we are charged.

*

“Dinnertime!” It was Isabelle, standing framed in the door of the library. She still had the spoon in her hand, though her hair had escaped from its bun and was straggling down her neck. ‘Sorry if I’m interrupting,” she added, as an afterthought.

“Dear God,” said Jace, “the dread hour is nigh.”

*

“Jace. Is he really a terrible liar?”

Now Isabelle did turn her eyes on Clary, and they were large and dark and unexpectedly thoughtful. “he’s not a liar at all. Now about important things. He’ll tell you horrible truths, but he won’t lie.” She paused before she added quietly: “That’s why it’s generally  better not to ask him anything unless you can stand to hear the answer.”

*

” I kind of doubt he sent a Ravener demon to her house because he wants to ‘get back together;” said Alec.

“It wouldn’t be my move,” Jace agreed. “First the candy and flowers, then the apology letters, then the ravenous demon hordes. In that order.”

*

“Isabelle,” said Hodge patiently, “this is the man who rained down destruction on Idris the like of which it had never seen, who set Shadowhunter against Downworlder and made the streets of the Glass City run with blood.”

“That’s sort of hot,” Isabelle argued, “that evil thing.”

*

He was looking at Jace, and Clary thought he must be one of the few people in the world who looked at Jace nto as if he were afraid of him, but as if he were afraid for him.

*

“You don’t have to like it,” said Alec. “You just have to shut up and not do anything stupid.”

*

“Here.” Jace leaned forward and touched his fingers to the side of her temple, so gently that a flush crept up her face. “Everything we need to know if locked up in your head, under those pretty red curls.”

*

“I want them to help you.” Jace leaned across the table, so close she could see the darker amber flecks in his light eyes. “Maybe we don’t get to look for the Cup,” he said softly. “Maybe the Clave will do that. But what’s in your mind belongs to you. Someone’s hidden secrets there, secrets you can’t see. Don’t you want to know the truth about your own life?”

*

If there was one thing she was learning from all this, it was how easy it was to lose everything you had always thought you’d have forever.

*

“One of the Silent Brothers is here to see you. Hodge sent me to wake you up. Actually, he offered to wake you up himself, but since its five a.m., I figured you’d be less crank if you had something nice to look at.

*

“What’s with the cat?” Clary asked.

“The Silent Brothers make him nervous.”

*

“It seems to me,” Clary said with an edge to her voice, “that no one the Clave think is dead, is ever actually dead. Maybe they should invest in dental records.”

*

“I wish you’d stop desperately trying to get my attention like this,” he said. “It’s become embarrassing.”

“Sarcasm is the last refuge of the imaginatively bankrupt,” she told him.

“I can’t help it. I use my rapier wit to hide my inner pain.”

“Your pain will be outer soon if you don’t get out of traffic. Are you trying to get run over by a cab?”

*

“Then you’ll see the world as it is– infinite,” said Jace with a dry smile.

“Don’t quote Blake at me.”

*

“Sure,” he said. “We love reproducing. It’s one of our favorite things.”

*

NEPHILIM: FACILIS DESCENSUS AVERNI

“What does it mean?”

Jace’s grin was a white flash in the sarkness. “it means Shadowhunters: Looking Better in Black Than the Widows of out Enemies Since 1234.”

“Jace–“

It means, said Jeremiah, The descent into Hell is easy.

*

Those who die in battle are burned, their ashes used to make the marble arches that you see here. The blood and bone of demon slayers is itself a powerful protection against evil. Even in death, the Clave serves the cause.

*

A granite doorway loomed up out of the falling whiteness; there were words carves above the door. THE MAGNIFICENT. Then she was standing inside an entryway that smelled of iron and melting snow. Her fingers numb with cold. A hand under her chin directed her to look up, and she saw a row of words scrawled along the wall. Two words leaped out at her, burning into her eyes: “MAGNUS BANE”.

*

“You bled on the Speaking Stars,” he said. Clary looked and saw that he was right: There was a smear of her blood on the white and silver marble. “I bet there’s a law somewhere about that.”

*

“If you wanted me to rip my clothes off, you should have just asked.” He dug in his pocket and brought out his stele. “It would have been a lot less painful.”

*

“And next time you’re planning to injure yourself to get my attention, just remember that a little sweet talk works wonders.”

*

“I don’t want spaghetti. I want to know what a Magnus Bane is.”

*

She was looking at Alec instead, watching him as he talked to Jace. There was a kinetic, almost feverish energy to him that hadn’t been there before. Something about Jace sharpened him, brought him into focus. If she were going to draw them together, she though, she would make Jace a little blurry, while Alec stood out, all sharp, clear planes and angles.

*

Investigation?” Isabelle laughed. “Now we’re detectives? Maybe we should all have code names.”

“Good idea,” said Jace. “I shall be Hotschaft Von Hugenstein.”

*

“So they’re good enough to let live, good enough to make your food for you, good enough to flirt with– but now really good enough? I mean, not as good as people.”

*

“I didn’t,” said Jace. “At least, I didn’t finish it. It’s Magnus Bane.” He grinned at Alec mockingly. “Rhymes with ‘overcareful pain in the ass.'”

Alec muttered a retort into his coffee. It rhymed with something that sounded a lot more like “ducking glass mol.” Clary smiled inwardly.

*

“A diary with no drawings of me in it? Where are the torrid fantasies? The romance novel covers? The–“

“Do all the girls you meet fall in love with you?” Clary asked quietly.

The question seemed to deflate him, like a pin popping a balloon. “it’s not love,” he said, after a pause. “At least–“

“You could try not being charming all the time,” Clary said. “It might be a relief for everyone.”

*

“Later, when his father left him, the boy cried over his pet, until eventually his father sent the servant to take the body of the bird away and bury it. The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

*

Even in half demon hunter clothes, Clary thought, he looked like the sort of boy who’d come over to your house to pick you up for a date and be polite to your parents and nice to your pets.

Jace, on the other hand, looked like the sort of boy who’d come over to your house and burn it down for kicks.

*

“Last time I left you alone, a demon attacked you,” he pointed out.

“Well, I’d certainly hate to interrupt your pleasant night stroll with my sudden death.”

*

“I hate it when you answer a question with a question.”

“No you don’t, you think it’s charming.”

*

Magnus’s hand shot out, so fast it was barely a blur. He plucked the stele out of Jace’s hand- Clary hadn’t even realized he was holding it- and held it up. Jace looked faintly abashed. “As for this,” Magnus said, sliding it into Jace’s jeans pocket, “keep it in your pants, Shadowhunter.”

*

As Oscar Wilde once said, ‘To lost one parent may be regarded as misfortune. To lose both looks like carelessness.'”

*

“Every teenager in the world feels like that, feels broken or out of place, different somehow royalty mistakenly born into a family of peasants. The difference in your case is that it is true. You are different. Maybe not better- but different. And it’s no picnic being different. You want to know what it’s like when your parents are good churchgoing folk and you happen to be born with the devil’s mark?” He pointed at his eyes, fingers splayed. “When your father flinches at the sight of you and your mother hangs herself in the barn, driven mad by what she’s done? when I was ten, my father tried to drown me in the creek. I lashed out with everything I had– burned him when he stood. I went of the fathers of the church eventually, for sanctuary. They hid me. They say that pity’s a bitter thing, but it’s better than hate. When I found out what I was really, only half human being, I hated myself. Anything’s better than that.”

*

“If there was such a thing as terminal literalism, you’d have died in childhood.”

*

“If you insist on disavowing that which is ugly about what you do,” said Magnus, still looking at Alec, “you will never learn from your mistakes.”

*

“You on your way out?”

Jace nodded. ‘Don’t want to overstay our welcome.”

“What welcome?” Magnus asked. “I’d say it was a pleasure to meet you, but it wasn’t. Not that you aren’t all fairly charming, and as for you–” He dropped a glittery wink at Alec, who looked astounded. “Call me?”

*

“WHO DARES DISTURB MY REST?”

Jace looked almost nervous. “Jace Wayland. Remember? I’m from the Clave.”

“Oh, yes.” Magnus seemed to have perked up. “Are you the one with the blue eyes?”

“He means Alec,” Clary said helpfully. “No. My eyes are usually described as golden,” Jace told the intercom. “And luminous.”

*

“Then you have to help us,” Clary said to the warlock. “Otherwise Simon will die.”

Magnus looked her up and down with a sort of clinical sympathy. “They all die, dear,” he said. “You might as well get used to it.”

*

“When the self-congratulatory part of the evening is over, maybe we could get back to saving my best friend from being exsanguinated to death?”

*

“There might be a God, Clary, and there might not, but I don’t think it matters. Either way, we’re on out own.”

*

She put her arms around him. Everything about him was familiar, from the overwashed fabric of his T-shirt to the sharp angle of the collarbone that rested just under her chin. He said her name, and she stroked his back reassuringly. When she glanced back just for a moment, she saw Jace turning away as if the brightness of the rising sun hurt his eyes.

*

“You’ve endangered other people with your wistfulness. This is one incident I will not allow you to shrug off!”

“I wasn’t planning to,” Jace said. “I can’t shrug anything off. My shoulder’s dislocated.”

*

“I have a high pain threshold. In fact, it’s less of a threshold and more of a large and tastefully decorated foyer. But I do easily get bored.” He squinted at her. “Do you remember back at the hotel when you promised that if we lived, you’d get dressed up in a nurse’s outfit and give me a sponge bath?”

“Actually, I think you misheard,” Clary said. “It was Simon who promised you the sponge bath.”

Jace looked involuntarily over at Simon, who smiled at him widely. “As soon as I’m back on my feet, handsome.”

“I knew we should have left you a rat,” said Jace.

*

“You don’t understand,” Alec said. “You don’t know him. I know him. he thinks he has to save the world; he’s be glad to kill himself trying. Sometimes I think he even wants to die, but that doesn’t mean you should encourage him to do it.”

*

And then she drew Jace standing on the roof, looking down at the ten-story drop below. Not afraid, but as if the fall challenged him– as if there were no empty space he could fill with his belief in his own invincibility.

*

“You’ve never seemed to really need anyone, Clary. You’ve always been so…contained. All you’ve ever needed is your pencils and your imaginary worlds. So many times I’ve had to say things six, seven times before you’d even respond, you were so far away. And then you’d turn to me and smile that funny smile, and I’d know you’d forgotten all about me and just remembered– but I was never mad at you. Half of your attention is better than all of anyone else’s.”

*

“You wanted a turtle on your shoulder?”

“I wanted to cover up my chicken pox scar.” She pulled the strap of the tank top aside slightly, showing the star-shaped white mark at the top of her shoulder. “See?”

*

He’s just being polite, she told herself. Then again, this was Jace. He was never polite. She decided to answer his question with a question. “Aren’t you tired?”

His voice was low. “I’ve never been more awake.”

*

“In future, Clarissa,” he said, “it might be wise to mention that you already have a man in your bed, to avoid such tedious situations.”

“You invited him into bed?” Simon demanded, looking shaken.

“Ridiculous, isn’t it?” said Jace. “We would never have all fit.”

“I didn’t invite him into bed,” Clary snapped. “We were just kissing.”

“Just kissing?” Jace’s tone mocked her with it’s fake hurt. “How quickly you dismiss our love.”

*

“Go on, go after him. Pat his head and tell him he’s still your super special little guy. Isn’t that what you want to do?”

*

“If you’re angry, just say it. Don’t act like nothing ever touches you. It’s like you never feel anything at all.”

*

“Don’t tell me,” he said, drawing his words out in a way he knew she hated. “Simon’s turned himself into an ocelot and you want me to do something about it before Isabelle makes him into a stole. Well, you’ll have to wait till tomorrow. I’m out of commission.” He pointed at himself- he was wearing blue pajamas with a hole in the sleeve. “Look. Jammies.”

*

“Don’t tell me,” he said. “You’ve got a drawing emergency. You need a nude model. Well, I’m not in the mood. You could ask Hodge,” he added, as an afterthought. “I hear he’ll do anything for a -“

*

“He has many thing I haven’t got,” said Jace. “Like nearsightedness, bad posture, an appalling lack of coordination.”

“You know,” Clary said, “most psychologists agree that hostility is really just sublimated sexual attraction.”

“Ah,” said Jace blithely, “that might explain why I so often run into people who seem to dislike me.”

*

“Where there is a feeling that is not requited,” said Hodge, “there is an imbalance of power. It is an imbalance that is easy to exploit, but it is not a wise course. Where there is love, there is often also hate. They can exist side by side.”

*

“That’s why when major badasses greet each other in movies they don’t say anything, they just nod. The nod means, ‘I am a badass, and I recognize that you, too, are a badass,’ but they don’t say anything because they’re Wolverine and Magneto and it would mess up their vibe to explain.”

*

“Simon, about last night–“

He held up a hand. “We don’t have to talk about it. In fact, I’d rather not.”

“Just let me say one thing.” She spoke quickly. “I know that when you said you loved me, what I said back wasn’t what you wanted to hear.”

“True, I’d always hoped that when I finally said ‘I love you’ to a girl, she’d say ‘I know’ back, like Leia did to Han in Return of the Jedi.”

*

“Didn’ I read your tea leaves, Shadowhunter? Have you fallen in love with the wrong person yet?”

Jace said, “Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.”

Dorthea roared at that. “At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejections, Jace Wayland.”

“Not necessarily, I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”

*

“I may not believe in sin,” he said, “but I do believe in guilt. We Shadowhunters live by a code, and that code isn’t flexible. Honor, fault, penance, those are real to us, and they have nothing to do with religion and everything to do with who we are. This is who I am, Clary,” he said desperately. “I am one of the Clave. It is in my blood and bones. So tell me, if you’re so sure this wasn’t my fault, why is it that the first thought in my mind when I saw Abbadon wasn’t for my fellow warriors but for you?” His other hand cam up; he was holding her face, prisoned between his palms. “I know- I knew– Alec wasn’t acting like himself. I knew something was wrong. But all I could think about was you…”

*

“It is said that Nephilim are the children of men and angels. All that this angelic heritage has given us is a longer distance to fall.”

*

“Hugin,” Luke said softly. “Hugin and Munin were Valentine’s pet birds. Their names mean ‘Thought’ and ‘Memory.'”

“Well, they should mean ‘Attack’ and ‘Kill,'” said Clary. “Hugo almost tore my eyes out.”

*

“Well, you can go ahead and hang your head out of the car window if you feel like it.”

Luke laughed. “I’m a werewolf, not a golden retriever.”

*

“It was Michael they owed a debt to, not me. It was on Michael’s account that they loved him, not mine.”

“Maybe they loved him on his own account.”

*

That sounds terrific, thought Clary. Just you, your comatose wife, your shell-shocked son, and your daughter who hates your guts. Not to mention that your two kids may be in love with one another. Yeah, that sounds like a perfect family reunion. 

*

Inlaid silvery starts gleamed along the blade’s length and Clary thought, frozen in a moment of horror, how could anything so deadly be so beautiful?

*

“What are you thinking?” he called back to her.

“Just how different everything down there is now, you know, that I can see.”

“Everything down there is exactly the same,” he said, angling the cycle toward the East River. They were heading toward the Brooklyn Bridge again. “You’re the one that’s different.”

Leave a Reply

