Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Pandemonium

“You might as well get used to it now,” she says with quiet intensity. “Everything you were, the life you had, the people you knew … dust.” She shakes her head and says, a little more firmly, “There is no before. There is only now, and what comes next.”

Pandemonium is the second book in Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series. If you haven’t read the first book Delirium yet, you probably shouldn’t read this review. But you should probably go read this one 🙂 While it won’t contain any spoilers for this particular book (which, was super hard to not do BTW) it will contain spoilers for the first one.

I didn’t think it was possible, after raving so much after Delirium that I could possibly be surprised by this book. I was used to Lauren’s beautiful writing style and delivery, and I could be better prepared, you know, emotionally. I would know what I was getting myself into.

Wrong.

This book. Guys.

First off, I chose the quote to begin this review with for two reasons. One: it sums up perfectly what this novel is about. Lena is in the Wilds now, learning to live this new life, as a new person, leaving her past behind. Two: it is also a complete contradiction of how this book is written. In Delirium we follow the events of Lena’s life sequentially, going through chapters as she experiences them. In Pandemonium there are no chapters, just THEN and NOW. It flashes back and forth from her present situation, as a member of the Resistance, to her first happenings in the Wilds.

It’s really hard to go into any more detail about the plot than that without giving away any spoilers. What I can say with 100 percent certainty is that if you loved Delirium you will love this book.  It is a completely brilliant  action packed romantic-suspenseful-triller, and it is so incredibly beautifully written. I recommend this book wholeheartedly, and can’t wait to start on the final book Requiem. Look out for that review coming soon!

For those of you who have read all three novels, or are reading them right now. I would love to discuss them with you! When I am finished with Requiem I am planning to do an entire “Discussion” post about the series so we can talk in a spoiler-free zone. I will post the link here when it is up. Hope to see you in the comments over there!

Leave a Reply

