Requiem by Lauren Oliver [Spoliers!]

Requiem

But we have chosen a different road. And in the end that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

Since this is the third and final book for the Delirium Trilogy, this is going to be chock-full of spoilers. If you haven’t read the first two books, Delirium and Pandemonium I am not exactly sure why you made it over to this post, but you should probably read no further! Go check out my review of Delirium
and jump  then come back here and join us without danger 🙂

Still here? No?

Fabulous.

I loved the first half of this book. However, somehow my book seemed to me a misprint, and was missing the conclusion of the novel. What’s that, you say? It wasn’t missing anything? That was the end?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!

Alright, Lauren. We get it. You want us to ponder the value of choice and take hold of our lives. That’s all good and all, and I totally support people taking back the reins and going forth from your books with a sense of determination and self-worth. Well, wanna know what else I support?

Closure. Conclusions. Endings in general.

You can’t write something so beautiful, that has me crying for the last three chapters and then just end it. You just can’t. Well, obviously you can. But that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

I can live with not knowing if she ends up with Alex or Julian. I am just going to tell myself she ends up with Alex because that is who I am rooting for. Julian is too perfect. I like the tough guys so yeah, I can deal with no who-ends-up-with-who scenario at the end. I’m not happy about it, but I can deal.

What I can’t even possibly understand is how in the HELL do you leave Hana completely out of the second book, and then do a double narrative in the third, and then not tell us what happens to her at all. Does she get killed by and Invalid just walking up the street in her wedding dress? Captured by Fred’s crazy ass family? Join Lena and the resistance? SERIOUSLY THIS IS NOT OKAY.

No.

The only silver lining I can see here is I hear they are turning this into a TV show? Anyone have any insight on this? I think it would be perfect for a show because everything was left so open-ended. So really, they can do what they want with it.

How did you guys feel about it? Were you as angry as I was? Let’s talk.

5 thoughts on “Requiem by Lauren Oliver [Spoliers!]

  1. I love your Doctor Who gif. Totally mirrors how I felt when I got to the end. It just left everything open ended. I had heard about the TV show too but I then heard later that the pilot wasn’t picked up by a network so I don’t think its happening.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

