The Bane Chronicles: The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan [Quotes]

The boy was very, very lovely, but his was a beauty like that Helen of Troy might have had once, disaster written in every line.

*

“I,” the boy announced, “am James Herondale.” “You know,” Magnus murmured, “I rather thought you might be called something like that. I am delighted to hear that I am famous.”

*

“I see that a flair for the dramatic runs in the blood,” Magnus said under his breath.

*

“What an excellent idea,” Magnus said. “I have heard alcohol only improves a man’s aim. The night is young. Imagine how many barmaids you can shoot before dawn.”

*

So the boy had inherited something from his mother as well as his father, then. Tessa’s father had been a fallen angel, one of the kings of demons. The boy’s lambent golden eyes seemed to Magnus like his own eyes suddenly, a token of infernal blood.

*

“There isn’t any chance,” Magnus asked, without much hope, “that you are rather a nice fellow who believes he is cursed and must make himself seem unlovable to spare those around him from a terrible fate? Because I have heard that happens sometimes.”

*

“What happened?” Magnus asked musingly. “Well, let me see. He stole a bicycle and rode it, not using his hands at any point, through Trafalgar Square. He attempted to climb Nelson’s Column and fight with Nelson. Then I lost him for a brief period of time, and by the time I caught up with him, he had wandered into Hyde Park, waded into the Serpentine, spread his arms wide, and was shouting, ‘Ducks, embrace me as your king!’”

*

Will. “And your sister Cecily married her brother. Gilbert. Gaston. I have a shocking memory for Lightwoods.”

*

“Well,” he announced. “As educational and occasionally damp as this evening has been, I do not wish to intrude on a family reunion, and I really do not wish to experience any family drama, as I find with Shadowhunters that it tends to be extensive. I must be on my way.”

*

If Jesse Blackthorn had died when he was sixteen then the boy must have been dead for nine years, but perhaps a mother’s mourning never ended.

*

James had given his heart to this girl, Magnus thought, and Magnus knew well enough from Edmund and Will what it meant when a Herondale gave his heart away. It was not a gift that could be returned.

.

One thought on “The Bane Chronicles: The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan [Quotes]

  1. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

