The Bane Chronicles: The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

TBCMidnightHeirI,” the boy announced, “am James Herondale.”

You know,” Magnus murmured, “I rather thought you might be called something like that.

Well, I didn’t think that I could love this one more than Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale, because well….. Edmund Herondale. But then now…. James FREAKING Herondale.

Which we already knew about, since Cassie wasn’t exactly keeping it a secret. What I was not prepared for what everyone else from TID showing up! I can tell you right now, if you have not read The Infernal Devices, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK. I realize there are some people who love Magnus solely from The Mortal Instruments, and so far The Bane Chronicles haven’t really spoiled anything for TID up until this point, but The Midnight Heir is chock full of them. As this review is about to be. So go read TID because if your love of Magnus brought you here, you won’t be dissapointed. Go!

I was not emotionally prepared for this.

There is so much going on in this book. We catch up with James when he is seventeen, so naturally we meet back up with all of the TID characters we love. And can I just say: THE FEELS.

James is participating in self-sabotaging behavior because he is so tortured by a secret that he can’t burden anyone with. Which I suppose isn’t your average teenager, but definitely your average Herondale teenager.

There are quite a few little hints at the TLH series Cassie is going to write. By quite a few, I mean half of the eBook. Which is so frustrating and exciting at the same time. I have no patience for this!

And as always with Magnus and the TID crew, it does not lack in the giggle department. I waited up for the book to be delivered to my Kindle, and my neighbors in the apartment behind ours probably think I am a crazy person from the midnight laughter. And maybe some sobbing. What can I say? TID makes me emotional.

In all, this is the best TBC book to date, and it does seem that somehow they are continuing to get better with each release. No complaints from me!

***

If you have read The Midnight Heir and want to see some of my favorite quotes, check them out here 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Bane Chronicles: The Midnight Heir by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

  1. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: The Rise of the Hotel Dumort by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson | thebookboozer

  2. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: Saving Raphael Santiago by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan | thebookboozer

  3. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: The Fall of the Hotel Dumort by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson | thebookboozer

  4. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan | thebookboozer

  5. Pingback: The Bane Chronicles: The Last Stand of the New York Institute by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

