Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare [Quotes]

“James Carstairs! Jem! Where are you, you disloyal bastard?”

*

Ouroboros,” Jem said, leaning in close to stare at the knife. “A double one. Now, what do you think that means?”

“The end of the world,” said Will, still looking at the dagger, a small smile playing about his mouth, ‘and the beginning.”

*

If no one in the entire world cared about you, did you really exist at all?

*

“I’ve mastered many things in my life. Navigating the streets of London, dancing the quadrille, the Japanese art of flower arranging, lying at charades, concealing a highly intoxicated states, delighting young women with my charms…”

Tessa stared.

“Alas,” he went on, “no one has ever actually referred to me as ‘the magister’, either. More’s the pity…”

“Are you highly intoxicated at the moment?”

*

“You read novels. Obviously, I’m here to rescue you. Don’t I look like Sir Galahad?”

*

Angels, Tessa though, wondering, but she didn’t say it. That light, so bright- what else could they be?

*

You are Eidolon, Theresa Gray. Shape-changer. But not of a sort that is familiar to me. There is no demon’s mark on you.

*

“Is it dreadful, being so evil? Are you worried you’ll got to Hell?” She leaned closer to Tessa. “What do you think the Devil’s like?”

Tessa set her fork down. “Would you like to meet him? I could summon him up in a trice if you like. Being a warlock, and all.”

*

“Oh, no. I hate chocolate.”

Will looked horrified. “What kind of monster could possibly hate chocolate?”

*

“Perhaps he’s in love with Agatha,” she said.

“I hope not. I intend to marry Agatha myself. She may be a thousand years old, but she makes an incomparable jam tart. Beauty fades, but cooking is eternal.”

*

“One must always be careful with books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

*

Pulvis et umbra sumus. It’s a line from Horace. ‘We are dust and shadows.’ Appropriate, don’t you think?” Will said. “It’s not a long life, killing demons; one tends to die young, and then they burn your body- dust to dust, in the literal sense. And then we vanish into the shadows of history, nary a mark on the page of a mundane book to remind the world that we once existed at all.”

*

She stared down at the illustration showing a tall man with shaggy hair, standing  in the center of a pentagram chalked onto a stone floor. He looked completely normal, save for the fact that he had eyes with slit pupils like a cat’s.

*

His eyes were closed. “Will?” he said, without opening his eyes or ceasing to play. “Will, is that you?”

*

She couldn’t help staring at him as he picked up a piece of bread and applied butter to it. It seemed hard to imagine that anyone quite so ethereal-looking could possibly eat toast.

*

“But you are not a lady, Jessamine-,” Charlotte began.

“Dear me,” said Will. “Such harsh truths so early in the morning cannot be good for the digestion.”

*

“I have an assignation in Soho this evening with a certain attractive someone.”

“Goodness,” Tessa said to the back of his head. “If you keep seeing Six-Fingered Nigel like this, he’ll expect you declare your intentions.”

Jem choked on his tea.

*

They tended to take turns going first into dangerous situations, though Jem preferred to be rear guard much of the time- Will always forgot to look behind him.

*

“Nice place to live, isn’t it? Let’s hope they left something behind other than filth. Forwarding addresses, a few severed limbs, a prostitute or two…”

“Indeed. Perhaps, if we’re fortunate, we can still catch syphilis.”

“Or demon pox,” Will suggested cheerfully, trying the door under the stairs. It swung open, unlocked as the front door had been. “There’s always demon pox.”

“Demon pox does not exist.”

“Oh ye of little faith.”

*

“Beware Nephilim. As you slay others, you too shall be slain. Your angel cannot protect you against that which neither God nor the devil has made, and army born neither of Heaven nor Hell. Beware the hand of man. Beware.”

*

“There were many great advancements, many great inventions. I saw a warlock create a silver ring that could transport the wearer to another location whenever he twisted one around his finger.

*

“Inanimate objects are harmless indeed, Mr. Mortmain. But one cannot always say the same of the men who use them.”

*

“It’s Will,” she said. “He’s being absolutely ridiculous in the dining room.”

Charlotte looked puzzled. “How is this different from his being totally ridiculous in the library or the weapons rooms or any of the other places he’s usually ridiculous?”

*

“Am I blind?” Will’s voice floated out of the darkness, tinged with annoyance. “I’m not going to be at all pleased if you’ve blinded me, Henry.”

*

“I believe in good and evil,” said Jem. “And I believe the soul is eternal. But I don’t believe in the fiery pit, the pitchforks, or endless torment. I do not believe you can threaten someone into goodness.”

*

“Nevertheless, Will, that money was evidence. You should have turned it in to the Clave.”

“I spent it on gin.”

Will.”

Will shrugged. “The spoils of vice are a burdensome responsibility.”

*

With a frown, Jem stepped forward to take the necklace, and then held it out to Tessa. She felt the weight of it as she took it from him. It was heavy, and the square ruby pendant the size of a bird’s egg felt cold to the touch, as cold as if it had been lying in snow.

*

He stroked her hand, carefully, soothingly, and looked up at her with his silver eyes. The expression in them had not changed with the change in her; he looked at her as he had before, as if she were still Tessa Gray. “You’re alive,” he said, in a voice so soft only she could hear it. “You’re wearing a different skin, but you’re Tessa, and your alive. Do you know how I know that?”

She shook her head.

“Because you said the word ‘God” just now to me. No vampire could say that.” He squeezed her hand. “Your soul is still the same.”

*

Jem took the ruby pendant from Tessa to being it to the vampire; as he lifted it, Tessa saw that there were words etched on the silver frame of the pendant: AMOR VERUS NUMQUAM MORITUR.

*

“Remember when you tried to convince me to feed a poultry pie to the mallards in the park to see if you could breed a race of cannibal ducks?”

“They ate it too,” Will reminisced. “Bloodthirsty little beasts. Never trust a duck.”

*

“Demon pox?” Tessa was horrified and fascinated at the same time.

“He’s made that up,” Jem hastily reassured her. “Really, Will. How many times do we have to tell you there’s no such thing as demon pox?”

*

Will drew his gaze away from the window and looked at her as if some realization had dawned on him. “Tess,” he said, and Tessa felt a momentary jolt; no one had ever called her Tess. Sometimes her brother had called her Tessie, but that was all. “You know you don’t have to do this if you don’t want to.”

*

“I thought vampires couldn’t touch holy things.”

“It depends on the vampire- how long they’ve been alive, what kind of faith they have. De Quincey actually collects old Bibles. He say’s there’s hardly another book out there with so much blood on the pages.”

*

“… have you ever read The Book of Knowledge of Ingenious Mechanical Devices?”

“I’ve never even heard of it,” said Will. “Are there any bleak moots in it, shrouded in mysterious mists? Ghostly brides wandering the halls of ruined castles? A handsome fellow rushing to the rescue of a beauteous yet penniless maiden?”

“No,” said Magnus. “There’s a rather racy bit about cogs halfway through, but really most of it is rather dry.”

“Then Tessa won’t have read it either,” said Will.

*

“A binding spell. Meant to infuse demonic energy to an inanimate object, thus giving that object a sort of life. I’ve seen the spell used. Before the Accords vampires liked to amuse themselves by creating little demonic mechanisms like music boxes that would only play at night, mechanical horses that could ride only after sundown, that sort of silliness.”

*

“They’re still looking at him,” she said to Magnus under her breath. “At Will, I mean.”

“Of course they are,” said Magnus. His eyes reflected light like a cat’s as they surveyed the room. “Look at him. The face of a bad angel and eyes like the sky in Hell. He’s very pretty, and vampires like that. I can’t say that I mind either,” Magnus grinned. “Black hair and blue eyes are my favorite combination.”

*

“I am not a boy,” he said. “I am Nephilim.”

*

Jem shook his head. “You bit de Quincey,” he said. “You fool. He’s a vampire. You know what it means to bite a vampire.”

“I had no choice,” said Will. “He was choking me.”

“I know,” Jem said. “But really, Will. Again?”

*

“Is there anything that makes women sillier then the sigh of a wounded young man?”

Tessa slitted her eyes at him. “You might want to clean the rest of the blood off you face before you continue arguing in that vain.”

Will threw his arms up into the air and stalked off. Charlotte looked at Tessa, a half smile curving the side of her mouth. “I must say, I rather like the way you manage Will.”

Tessa shook her head. “No one manages Will.”

*

“Are you implying that shreds of my reputation remain intact?” Will demanded in mock horror. “Clearly I have been doing something wrong. Or not doing something wrong, as the case may be.” He banged on the side of the carriage. “Thomas! We must away at once to the nearest brothel! I seek scandal and low companionship.”

*

“I see your determined to miss my point.”

“If your point is that there was a pretty girl in the room and it was distracting you, then I think I’ve taken your point handily.”

“You think she’s pretty?” Will was surprised; Jem rarely opined on this sort of thing.

“Yes, and you do too.”

“I hadn’t noticed, really.”

“Yes, you have, and I’ve noticed you noticing.”

*

There is a power I sense you have. A power no other warlock does.

“The Changing, you mean,” said Tessa.

No. I do not mean that.

*

“It hardly seems worth living a long time if you’re going to look like that.”

The corner of Jem’s mouth twitched. “I suppose it depends on what you’re living for.”

*

“But I don’t know myself.” Tessa shook her head. “I’m sorry. After the way you fought at de Quincey’s, you must think I’m a terrible coward, crying because my brother isn’t a monster and I don’t have the courage to be a monster all by myself.”

*

“Whatever you are physically,” he said,”male or female, strong or weak, ill or healthy- all those things matter less than what your heart contains. If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. Whatever the color, the shape, the design of the shade that conceals it, the flame inside the lamp remains the same. You are that flame.” He smiled then, seeming to have come back to himself, slightly embarrassed. “That’s what I believe.”

*

“You never laugh,” she said. “You behave as if everything is funny to you, but you never laugh. Sometimes you smile when you think no one is paying attention.”

*

For so many years she had wondered what her first kiss would be like- if he would be handsome, if he would love her, if he would be kind. She had never imagined that the kiss would be so brief and desperate and wild. Or that it would taste of holy water. Holy water and blood.

*

“There are worse things than that. It’s all right to love someone who doesn’t love you back, as long as they’re worth you loving them. As long as they deserve it.”

*

“Sometimes,” Jem said, “our lives can change so fast the change outpaces our minds and hearts. It’s those times, I think, when our lives have altered but we still long for the time before everything was altered- that is what we feel the greatest pain. I can tell you, though, from experience, you grow accustomed to it. You learn to live your new life, and you can’t imagine, or even really remember, how things were before.”

*

“Goodness- real goodness- has it’s own sort of cruelty to it.”

*

“I am not this drug, or its hold on me. I believe that I am better than that. That my life is about more than that, however and whenever it might end.”

*

“How rude. Many who have gazed upon me have compared the experience to gazing at the radiance of the sun.”

Jem still had his eyes closed. “If they mean it gives you a headache, they aren’t wrong.”

*

He looked down on London like a bad angel pledged to save the city from it’s own worst dreams, while below him London slept on, indifferent and unknowing.

*

“It’s a cat, James. We have bigger things to worry about-“

But Je was already walking away. He reached the animal’s cage and scooped it up, holding the cage a eye level. The cat looked to be a gray Persian, with a squashed-in face and yellow eyes that regarded Jem malevolently.

*

“But if you take one more step toward the door, I promise you, I’ll put this knife through my heart.”

*

“It would not have mattered. You can appear as hideous or as beautiful as you like. The face you wear now is only one of a thousand possible faces. When will you learn that there is no real Tessa Gray?”

Leave a Reply

