The Bane Chronicles: Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan [Quotes]

The undead were always killing one’s servants and endangering one’s pet monkey.

*

“The marvelous thing about being a creature of the night,” she confided in a low voice, “is that one need never wear anything but evening clothes.”

*

The Consul, who Magnus believed was called Morgwhatsit, seemed passionately in love with his own voice.

*

Oh, that’s it, Magnus thought. Morgenstern. Awful name.

*

“Somebody incredibly attractive just came into the room, and I ceased to pay attention to a word you were saying.”

*

“No fewer than four of my esteemed elders told me I was on no account to ever converse with you, so I vowed that I would know you. My name is Edmund Herondale. May I ask your name? They referred to you only as ‘that disgraceful one-warlock show.’”

*

“I lost my parents as a child,” said Edmund candidly. “But rare is the Shadowhunter with an intact family. I was taken in by the Fairchilds and raised in the Institute. Its halls have ever been my home. And if you mean love, then no, my heart has never been broken. Nor do I foresee that it will be.”

*

“Very well,” Magnus said. “Let us pause for a moment and consider— Oh, you have already run off. Splendid.”

*

“I do not mean to seem indelicate or ungrateful,” said Linette Owens, “but are you a dangerous lunatic?”

*

“That was mahogany!” cried Roderick Morgenstern, looking appalled.

*

“I shall never eat duck again. I cannot believe I used to like duck. The duck betrayed me.”

*

Men and women perish in attempts to Ascend. She is brave and beautiful and unwavering, and if the Law says she is not worthy exactly as she is, then the Law is a lie. I cannot believe the unfairness of it, that I have found the one woman in all the world whom I could love, and what does the Law say to this feeling that I know is sacred? In order to be with her, either I am meant to ask my dearest love to risk her life, a life that is worth more to me than my own. Or I am meant to cut away the other part of my soul— burn away my life’s purpose and all the gifts the Angel gave me.”

*

Leave a Reply

