The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare [Quotes]

Not all Shadowhunters could hear ghosts, unless the ghosts chose to be heard, but Will was one of those who could.

*

Mortality, behold and fear! What a change of flesh is here: Think how many royal bones, sleep within these heaps of stones.”

*

Will was beautiful, but he was not hers; he was not anybody’s. Something in him was broken, and through that break spilled a blind cruelty, a need to hurt and to push away.

*

Being Jem, Tessa reflected, must be a great deal like being the owner of a thoroughbred dog that liked to bite your guests. You had to have a hand on his collar constantly.

*

“Reparations,” said Jem very suddenly, setting down the pen he was holding.

Will looked at him in puzzlement. “Is this a game? we just blurt out whatever word comes to mind? In that case mine’s ‘genuphobia’. It means an unreasonable fear of knees.”

*

“You are a Shadowhunter, you are not afraid of death.”

“Of course I am,” said Will. “Everyone is afraid of death. We may be born of angels, but we have no more knowledge of what comes after death than you do.”

*

No human could best a Shadowhunter. Wasn’t that the point?

*

“Are you going to take Coleridge back from me, or shall I just stand here forever in this rather foolish position?”

*

“you could ride up to Yorkshire and chop that old goat’s head off.” Charlotte sounded mutinous.

“Won’t that make things rather awkward with the Clave?” asked Henry. “They’re not generally very receptive about, you know, beheadings and things.”

*

For Tessa Gray, on the occasion of being give a copy of  Vathek to read:

Caliph Vathek and his dark horde

Are bound for Hell, you won’t be bored!

Your faith in me will be restored-

Unless this token you find untoward

And my poor gifts you have ignored.

-Will

*

“And what color do you suppose the inner depth of your soul are, Will Herondale?”

“Mauve,” said Will.

*

“Set me a seal upon thin heart, as a seal upon thine arm; for love is strong as death; jealousy is cruel as the grave,” said Jem. “Song of Solomon.”

*

“Well, Will won’t need to create a new religion just to be rid of me,” said Jem. “He’ll be free soon enough.”

Will looked over sharply, but it was Tessa who spoke. “Don’t say that,” she admonished Jem. “A cure could still be found. I don’t see any reason to abandon all hope.”

She almost shrank back at the look Will bent on her: blue, blazing, and furious. Jem seemed not to notice as he replied, calmly and unaffectedly. “I haven’t abandoned hope,” he said. “I just hope for different things than you do, Tessa Gray.”

*

“Young Herondale, are you?” he barked as Will stepped forward to introduce himself. “Half-mundane, half-Welsh, and the worst traits of both, I’ve heard.”

*

There once was a lass from New York

Who found herself hungry in York.

But the bread was like rocks,

The parsnips shaped like-“

*

“I would never let anyone touch a hair on your head. You know that, don’t you, Tess?”

*

Cecily.”

*

Tessa exhaled. She hadn’t realized she’d been holding her breath until that moment. Will must have heard her, for he raised his head and his gaze met hers across the clearing. Something in it made her look away. Agony stripped so raw was not meant for her eyes.

*

“I am beginning to wonder if you’ve been sent here to test me, Will Herondale.”

*

“Jem is my great sin,” said Will. “Don’t talk to me about Jem.”

*

“No one can live with nothing,” he whispered. “Jem is all I have.”

*

“When Will truly wants something,” said Jem quietly, “when he feels something, he can break your heart.”

*

“I feel myself diminished, parts of me spiraling away into the darkness, that which is good and honest and true- If you hold it away from yourself long enough, do you lose it entirely? If no one cares for you at all, do you even really exist?”

He said this last part so softly that Magnus had to strain to hear him. “What was that?”

“Nothing. Something I read somewhere once.”

*

“Easy enough to say at seventeen,” said Magnus, with no small amount of coldness. “You are in love and you think that is all there is in the world. But the world is bigger than you, Will, and may have need for you. You are a Shadowhunter. You serve a greater cause. Your life is not yours to throw away.”

*

“I heard you and Miss Collins when I was coming up the stairs. Disappeared, has he? No surprising, considering I don’t think Will Herondale and a sense of responsibility are even on speaking terms.”

*

“I remember Will’s father. Quite the ladies’ man, he was. They couldn’t resist him. until he met Will’s mother, of course. Then he threw it all in and went to live in Wales just to be with her. What a case he was.”

“He fell in love,” said Jem. “It isn’t that peculiar.”

“‘Fell’ into it,” said the warlock, still with the same faint smile. “hurtled into it is more like. Headlong-crashed into it. Still, there are always some men like that- just one woman for them, and only she will do, or nothing.”

*

It was a mess, too- covers kicked down to the foot of the bed; clothes draped over the backs of chairs, teacups half-full of liquid not yet cleared away, balanced precariously on the nightstand. And everywhere books- books on the side tables, books on the bed, books in stacks on the floor, books double-lined in shelves along the walls.

*

“…First you must ask them, of course. It’s no small commitment-“

“You asked Will,” Tessa guessed.

Jem shook his head, still smiling. “He asked me,” he said. “Or rather he told me. We were training, up in the training room, with longswords. He asked me and I said no, he deserved someone who was going to live, who could look out for him all his life. He bet me he could get the sword away from me, and if he succeeded, I’d have to agree to be his blood brother.”

“And he got it away from you?”

“In nine seconds flat,” Jem laughed.

*

“I will die, and you know it, Tess. Probably within the next year. I am dying, and I have no family in the world, and the one person I trusted more than any other made sport of what is killing me.”

*

She loved Jem, as she loved Will- as she could not helping loving them all- and the thought of losing him shattered her heart. Not only for her own loss, but for Will’s. If Jem died, she could not help but feel, he would take all that was still human about Will with him when he went.

*

“You swore to stay with me,” he said. “When we made our oath, as parabatai. Our souls are knit. We are one person, James.”

“We are two people,” said Jem. “Two people with a covenant between us.”

Will knew he sounded like a child, but he could not help it. “A covenant that says you must not go where I cannot come with you.”

*

He grinned. “Caelum denique, angel,” he said, and melted away into the shadows, just as the gate before her opened.

*

There was a man, far too tall and thing to be a man, dressed in topcoat and tails, looming over a young woman in a green cloak whose red hair shone like a copper penny.

*

“You did love your brother once, didn’t you? I could see your face as he was speaking to you, and I wanted to kill him for breaking your heart.”

You broke my heart, she wanted to say.

*

She heard him exhale as he did so, as if he had been holding his breath for months and had only just let it out. She stood mesmerized as he gathered her hair in his hands, draping it over one of her shoulders, winding her curls between his fingers. “My Tessa,” he said, and this time she did not tell him that she was not his.

*

“I have wanted to do this,” he said, “every moment of every hour of every day that I have been with you since the day that I met you. You must know. Don’t you?”

*

“What do you care if we get out or not?” It was Will, his head still down, his voice muffled.

“You owe me,” Magnus said, his voice steely. “I mean to collect.”

Will turned on him. Tessa was startled to see the expression on his face. He looked sick and ill. “I should have known that was it.”

“You may choose your friends, but not your unlikely saviors,” Magnus said cheerfully.

*

And Will- Will, whom Tessa had expected to reach for his seraph blades- did something entirely unexpected. He raised a trembling finger, pointed at the blue skinned demon, and breath, “You.”

*

“I do like him,” he said, “though rather despite myself. I thought him a pretty bit of poison to start with, but I have come around. There is a soul under that bravado. And he is really alive, one of the most alive people I have ever met. When he feels something, it is as bright and sharp as lightning.”

*

“He said that your father was a demon.” Jessamine’s lips twitched. “And that your mother was a Shadowhunter.”

*

“There’s Will,” said Charlotte, and frowned. “Speaking of, where is Will?”

“Having a lie-in, no doubt,” said Jem, “and as for him being a witness, well, everyone thinks Will is a lunatic as it is-“

“Ah,” said a voice from the doorway, “having your annual everyone-thinks-Will-is-a-lunatic meeting, are you?”

“It’s biannual,” said Jem. “And no, this is not that meeting.”

*

“To tell you of my feelings first, before I showed them. To write poetry for you-“

“You don’t even like poetry,” Tessa said, her voice catching on a half laugh of relief.

“No. But you make me want to write it. Does that not count for anything?”

*

“Because I fell in love!” Jessamine snapped. “You ought to know what it’s like. I see how you look at Tessa.” She shot Tessa a poisonous look as Tessa’s cheeks flamed. “At least Nate is human.”

Jem didn’t lost his composure. “I haven’t betrayed the Institute for Tessa,” he said. “I haven’t lied and endangered those who have cared for me since I was orphaned.”

“If you wouldn’t,” said Jessamine, “you don’t really love her.”

“If she asked me to,” said Jem, “I would know she did not really love me.”

*

The tweezers flashed again, and Will’s hand bore down on Jem’s, both their fingers whitening. Blood welled and spilled down his bare side. He made no sound, though Jem looked sick and pale. He moved his hand as if to touch Will[‘s shoulder, then drew it back, biting down on his lip.

*

Lies and secrets, Tessa, they are like a cancer in the soul. They eat away what is good and leave only destruction behind.

*

“I’ve never minded it,” he went on. “Being lost, that is. I had always thought that one could not be truly lost if one knew one’s own heart. But I fear I may be lost without knowing yours.” He closed his eyes as if he were bone-weary, and she saw how thin his eyelids were, like parchment paper, and how tired he looked. “Wo ai ni, Tessa,” he whispered.

She knew, without knowing how she knew, what the words meant.

I love you.

And I don’t want to lose you.

*

Clasping it between her fingers she began to use the diamond to scratch letters into the stone wall.

JG.

Jessamine Gray.

*

I, Charlotte Branwell, daughter of Nephilim, do hereby and on this date tender my resignation as the director of the London Institute, on behalf of myself and of my husband, Henry Jocelyn Branwell-

*

“Of course I do. I didn’t marry you so I’d have someone to run the Institute with, Henry. I married you because- because I knew I wouldn’t mind how difficult directing this place was, or how badly the Clave treated me, if I knew yours would be the last face I saw every night before I went to sleep.”

*

“When two people are at one in their inmost hearts, they shatter even the strength of iron or bronze.”

*

“I cannot explain love,” he said. “I could not tell you if I loved you the first moment I saw you, or if it was the second or third or fourth. But I remember the first moment I looked at you walking toward me and realized that somehow the rest of the world seemed to vanish when I was with you. That you were the center of everything I did and felt and thought.”

*

“You speak of sacrifice, but it is not my sacrifice I offer. it is yours I ask of you,” he went on. “I can offer my life, but it is a short life; I can offer you my heart, though I have no idea how many more beats it shall sustain. But I love you enough to hope that you will not care that I am being selfish in trying to make the rest of my life- whatever its length- happy, by spending it with you. I want to be married to you, Tessa. I want it more that I have ever wanted anything else in my life.”

*

“Will,” Tessa said firmly. “Do you care more about the plan being enacted or about gettin credit for it?”

Will pointd a finger at her. “That,” he said. “The second one.”

*

“She didn’t,” he said. “I pulled them out of the fire myself. I read them all. Every word you wrote. you and I, Tess, we’re alike. We live and breathe words. It was books that kept me from taking my own life after I thought I could never love anyone, never be loved by anyone again. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them.”

*

“Do you love him?”

“Yes, I love him,” she said, and she saw Will flinch. “Don’t you?”

*

Will could not look at Jem; he looked instead toward the wall, where their shadows blended together in relief, so that one could not tell where one boy ended and the other began.

*

“Hello,” said the girl, in a voice both surprisingly soft and surprisingly firm. “I apologize for interrupting your dinner hour, but I had nowhere else to go. I am Cecily Herondale, you see. I have come to be trained as a Shadowhunter.”

Leave a Reply

