Stardust by Neil Gaiman

 

Stardust“A philosopher once asked, “Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at them because we are human?”

Pointless, really…”Do the stars gaze back?” Now that’s a question.”

How in the world did it take me so long to pick this up? Believe it or not, this is the first book from Neil Gaiman I have read at all. I know, I know. I have no answer for how that is possible. And I now regret every single minute I spent not knowing how brilliant he is. Needless to say, Stardust as well as Mr. Gaiman himself, have become quick favorites.

The story follows young Tristan Thorn, who lives in a small village named Wall. The special thing about Wall, and where it happened to get it’s name, is that the charge of the men in the town is the stand post at a gap in a small stone wall that acts as the border between their world, and the world of faerie. The only time that the two worlds meet is at a market, every nine years. It was at one of the markets that Dunstan Thorn, Tristan’s father, met a faerie woman and made some rash decisions which consequently left him with a son nine months later.

Tristan, however, is unaware of the story of his birth even though it seems that everyone else seems to know. Maybe they though he did and was embarrassed about it so they never brought it up? I don’t know. Tristan falls in love with a girl named Victoria, who promises him whatever his little heart desires if he travels across the wall to obtain a falling star that they both witnessed and bring it back to her. Thus begins Tristan’s adventure into the whimsical world of Faerie in search of a star and finds out the truth of himself along the way.

First off, the way in which Gaiman writes is beautiful. It is ridiculous, nonsensical at times, and absolutely brilliant. I picked up Stardust on Audible as something to listen to as I went to bed, and ended up listening to it in the car, and at work, and at the gym. I was addicted. The best part was that it was read by Gaiman, who I could listen to read the dictionary and be entertained. I highly recommend purchasing this as an audiobook, just for his hilarious voices.

The world that he created as Faerie makes no sense, and perfect sense at the same time. Everything is so ridiculous, but it is written as if it is the most normal thing in the world. It is hard to describe, but by the end of the first chapter you will know exactly what I am talking about!

The secondary characters in Stardust were also wonderful. Yvaine is snarky and sassy and I fully support that. The brothers were also hilarious, especially after they were dead. I also really enjoyed the little hairy man. There was a lot of truth in those ridiculous things that he said and did, and he really held a lot of the story together.

I highly recommend reading this book, as well as anything written by Neil Gaiman. Yeah, I do realize that I myself have only read this one book from him so far, but I fell 100 percent confident in recommending everything he has ever written… ever.

I have already picked up Neverwhere, and look forward to becoming addicted to it as well!

11 thoughts on “Stardust by Neil Gaiman

  1. My first Gaiman book was “Coraline”…creepy yet utterly enthralling story I couldn’t put down (because I was afraid to). “Stardust” is one of my favorites of his. I enjoyed “Neverwhere” as well – glad to hear you like it as well! I also suggest picking up “The Graveyard Book”. I have that one on audio. I will definitely have to pick up a copy of the audio “Stardust”.

    Oh! And I just read his newest book – “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” – again, another fantastic work! Basically…yes. Pick up anything and everything by Neil Gaiman, and be sure to look up his “Make Good Art” speech. You won’t regret it.

    Like

    • Coraline, like the Tim Burton film? No idea that was a Gaiman book. I have heard so many people rave about him and just had always chose picking up something else over his stuff. Totally regret it. He is just SO GOOD. I am loving Neverwhere! Thanks for all of the suggestions! “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” is next on my TBR by him, looks like I will have to pick up “The Graveyard Book” and “Coraline” as well now! Oh and I will be looking up the “Make Good Art” speech asap. I love speeches in general, especially the inspiring kind… which I am just going to assume this one is!

      Like

      • Whaaaat! Now I am picturing Neil Gaiman in a room with Moffat and Davies and can’t stop smiling. That is brilliant. Thanks for the link, I will be watching that today!

        Like

      • PS- I just looked up what episodes he wrote, and can I just say that “The Doctor’s Wife” is my favorite episode of all time? Of course Neil Gaiman wrote it. It’s like I was missing all of these signs in my life that I needed to read his stuff that I kept missing. Now I see the light!

        Like

  2. I’m glad you have found the awesomeness that is Niel Gaiman. He is absolutely phenomenal in anything he does. Stardust is one of my favorite books. The illustrated edition is gorgeous. And even the Stardust movie was good, (if you havent seen it, I suggest you do).
    I first found him through his work for DC Comics. His Sandman series is, in my opinion, one of the greatest series ever writen. I recomend it to any Gaiman fan, even if they are not a fan of comics in general. The American Gods novels are also fantastic reads. He is comming out with a calander for next year with 12 new short stories. I have never been so excited for a calendar!
    P.S. Your blog always brightens my day. Everyone down here misses you, and hopes to see you soon!

    Like

    • I need to get my hands on a hard copy of Stardust now for sure! I’ve heard good things about his Sandman series as well, I am glad that you love him too! Now I just want to read anything and everything from him. The movie Stardust is one of my top-ten favorite movies ever. Yeah, the universe really has been laying it all out for me! Have you checked out the speech Tiffany linked too? I think you would really enjoy it, being a writer for sure!

      I am glad that you like my blog 🙂 I miss all of you too, so much. Squeeze those cute little nephews for me, k?

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman | thebookboozer

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Stardust | Musings of an aspiring scribbler

Leave a Reply

