Quoting the Quill #3

quoting-the-quill-small

This week’s quote comes from the new love of my life, Mr. Neil Gaiman, and his beautiful book Stardust.

“Adventures are all very well in their place, he thought, but there’s a lot to be said for regular meals and freedom from pain.”

I love this quote. If you have ever read Stardust, Tristan says this while finding himself stuck up on a cloud with no way down. He starts thinking about how the characters in adventure stories he had read were never hungry. How funny is that? He is in his own adventure story, stuck up on a freaking cloud, and is thinking about food.

It makes you think though, doesn’t it? We all read the stories we do because we want adventure in our lives. We want to be stuck up on a cloud with no way down. But unlike the characters in these stories, if we feel the pang of hunger or pull of sleep we simply close the book, take care of our own needs, and then pick it back up at our leisure. I almost prefer it that way. Sure, I would love to be swept away on a magical adventure, into a land I had only dreamed of and surrounded by people I never knew existed. But there is something to be said about being warm and cozy at home, with food in my belly and tea in my hands.

***

Quoting the Quill is a Meme hosted over on Blogs-of-A-Bookaholic every other Wednesday. Or every Wednesday if you want 🙂 You can find more information about it here.

7 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #3

    • Right? I am starting to realize that Gaiman is a magician, and has the ability to write the perfect things for me to read at the perfect times. I needed this reminder this week, and he delivered!

      PS- My brother in law is going to lend me his copy of “Sandman”. Excited!

      Like

      • I really think he is. Or he was taken by the Fae as a child and sent back to the mortal realm to be their scribe and ensnare our mortal minds…he is uncanny at it!

        That’s awesome! I still need to read that one…

        Like

      • Haha that is totally possible! The quote on the front of the version of Stardust I have by Susanna Clark says, “In prose that dances and dazzles, Gaiman describes the indescribable; the eerie colors, ravishing scents, and dangerous laughter of Faerie. We daren’t ask how he knows so much about it’s woods and paths and high, lonely places. We’re just grateful that he does.”

        I think you are on to something Tiffany!

        Like

Leave a Reply

