Frankenstein by Mary Shelley [Quotes]

The world was to me a secret I desired to divine. Curiosity, earnest research to learn the hidden laws of nature, gladness akin to rapture, as they were unfolded to me, are among the earliest sensations I can remember.

*

But here were books, and here were men who had penetrated deeper and knew more. I took their word for all that they averred, and I became their disciple.

*

After days and nights of incredible labour and fatigue, I succeeded in discovering the cause of generation and life; nay, more, I became myself capable of bestowing animation upon lifeless matter.

*

If the study to which you apply yourself has a tendency to weaken your affections and to destroy your taste for those simple pleasures in which no alloy can possibly mix, then that study is certainly unlawful, that is to say, no befitting the human mind. If this rule were always observed; if no man allowed any pursuit whatsoever to interfere with the tranquility of his domestic affections, Greece had not been enslaved, Caesar would have spared his country, American would have been discovered more gradually, and the empires of Mexico and Peru had not been destroyed.

*

It was on a dreary night of November that I beheld the accomplishment of my toils. With an anxiety that almost amounted to agony, I collected the instruments of life around me, that I might infuse a spark of being into the lifeless thing that lay at my feet. It was already one in the morning; the rain pattered dismally against the panes, and my candle was nearly burnt out, when, by the glimmer of the half-extinguished light, I saw the dull yellow eye of the creature open; it breathed hard, and a convulsive motion agitated its limbs.

*

Remember that I am thy creature; I ought to by thy Adam, but I am rather the fallen angel, whom thou drivest from joy for no misdeed. everywhere I see bliss, from which I alone am irrevocably excluded. I was benevolent and good; misery made me a fiend. make me happy, and I shall again be virtuous.

*

Listen to my tale; when you have heard that, abandon or commiserate me, as you shall judge that I deserve. But hear me. The guilty are allowed, by human laws, bloody as they are, to speak in their own defense before they are condemned. Listen to me, Frankenstein. You accuse me of murder, and yet you would, with a satisfied conscience, destroy your own creature. Oh, Praise the eternal justice of man! Yet I ask you not to spare me; listen to me, and then, if you can, and if you will, destroy the work of your hands.

*

“I do not know,” said the man, “what the custom of the English may be, but it is the custom of the Irish to hate villains.”

One thought on “Frankenstein by Mary Shelley [Quotes]

  1. Pingback: Frightening Fall Friday: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

