Neil Gaiman’s Newbery Medal Acceptance Speech for The Graveyard Book: Excerpts

I recently just finished Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book, and luckily my copy had a transcription of his speech he gave upon winning the Newbery Medal.I can’t find it available in full anywhere online, so I decided to share some of my favorite quotes from it with you guys. If you happen to find a link somewhere to the full version online, please feel free to link it in the comments so other people can access it 🙂

*

It was as as if some people believed there was a divide between the books that you were permitted to enjoy and the books that were good for you, and I was expected to choose sides. We were all expected to choose sides. And I didn’t believe it and I still don’t.

I was, and still am, on the side of the books you love.

*

And I remembered. I would not be the person that I am without the authors that made me what I am- the special ones, the wise ones, sometimes just the ones that got there first.

It’s not irrelevant, those moments of connection, those places where fiction saves your life. It’s the most important thing there is.

*

There. We who make stories know that we tell lies for a living. But they are good lies that say true things, and we owe it to our readers to build them as best we can. Because somewhere out there who needs that story. Someone who will grow up with a different landscape, who without that story would be a different person. And who with that story may have hope, or wisdom, or kindness, or comfort.

And that is why we write.

2 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman’s Newbery Medal Acceptance Speech for The Graveyard Book: Excerpts

  1. Pingback: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman | thebookboozer

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Graveyard Book | Read. Run. Study.

Leave a Reply

