Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

The_Lightning_Thief_cover

“Safety from what? Who’s after me?”

“Oh, nobody much,” Grover said, obviously still miffed about the donkey comment. “Just the Lord of the Dead and a few of his blood-thirstiest minions.”

The Lightening Thief is the first novel in the Percy Jackson & The Olympians series. It introduces us to our three main characters. First, obviously, being Percy. He is a twelve year old boy, who hasn’t really ever fit in. It isn’t long into the book that he finds out why. Turns out he is a demi-god, or half-blood. The only question no one can answer for him, is who his father is. Worse yet, someone stole Zeus’ lightening bolt, and the gods are pretty much recreating some family drama worthy of the Kardashians. It is left up to Percy, Annabeth (daughter of Athena), and Grover (satyr and Percy’s best friend) to find the bolt and return it before the sequel to the Trojan War breaks out.

It took me a while to catch up, but I finally got close enough to jump onto the Percy Jackson bandwagon.

I’ll admit, I was weary of this one. It took me forever to pick it up because I am a 24, and reading from the perspective of a 12 year old boy just didn’t really appeal to me. But as I kept picking up Gaiman books narrated by children as young as 7, as well as keep seeing raving reviews of Riordan’s work, I had to at least give it a shot.

The verdict? The only regret I have is that I didn’t pick it up years ago. The story is inventive, and fast-paced. It is an easy read, as most first books in a series tend to be. Also, Riordan doesn’t really make Percy a 12 year old boy. I mean, if his age never would have been mentioned, I would have never guessed that he was a sixth-grader. He is mature, rational, and most importantly- the kid is hilarious and he is ballsy. He isn’t the bow-down-and-take-it type, but isn’t overly arrogant or stubborn. I think he is going to develop into a very interesting character throughout this series and I am so excited to see it unravel. Especially since I don’t have to wait years in between releases. Perks of being a late arrival 🙂

I am also really intrigued by Annabeth’s character. I thinks some nice scaffolding was laid for her and there are a lot of unanswered questions that I am dying to see revealed. Also, I am sure I am not the only newcomer that sees #percabeth shenanigans everywhere. ButI’d be lyin’ if I said I said I wouldn’t ship that 🙂

Now, if I could only get my hands on a copy of Book Two that doesn’t have a movie cover!

10 thoughts on “Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. I really enjoyed this one (and the rest of the series) and I’m glad to hear you did too! The only thing I wish is that the director had taken so many liberties with the movie… It could’ve been epic! Anyway, this is one of those series that gets better and better… Although the second one was my favorite. 🙂

    Like

    • I cracked and bought a movie cover. I don’t know if you know this about me Matt, but I can get a little impatient 🙂 I’ll just pick up a regular cover when I find one so my set can match. Thanks though!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan | thebookboozer

  3. Pingback: Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan | thebookboozer

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Would Recommend to X Person | thebookboozer

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read in 2013 | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

