Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

PJO&TSOM

“Families are messy. Immortal families are eternally messy. Sometimes the best we can do is to remind each other that we’re related for better or for worse…and try to keep the maiming and killing to a minimum.” 

In the second installment in the PJO series, Camp Half-Blood is in trouble. Someone has poisoned Thalia’s pine tree that acts sort of like this magic battery that keeps the defenses up around the camp, that keep the monsters out. Dying tree=no defenses.

We also get introduces to a new character, Tyson. Percy and Tyson went to the same school all year, but Percy apparently failed to notice that Tyson was a cyclops. He also turns out being more important to Percy than he originally thought.

So- Percy, Annabeth, and Tyson set off to figure out who poisoned the tree, and what they needed to do to save it. Luckily, the item that they need to heal the tree is on an island in the middle of the Sea of Monsters. Oh, and so is Grover. He got himself accidentally shacked up with Polyphemus (you know, the cyclops from the Odyssey), who thinks he is a lady cyclops wearing satyr perfume and wants to marry him. The usual.

This book was hilarious. It was also a little less obvious than the first one. I am hoping that the reading level continues to go up as the series progresses, because I can only handle so much of the let-me-spell-it-out-for-you-just-in-case-you-didn’t-get-it thing.

Also, I am starting to love Annabeth more and more. She is a badass version of Hermione, and I love it!

We also get to meet Hermes. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who was expecting him to be on team-Luke. He wasn’t made the god of thieves for nothing, right? But I loved him. Seriously, he is probably my favorite. Plus I pictured him as really handsome, so that kicked his charm up a couple more notches 🙂

The only thing that bummed me out in this book, was that we didn’t get much more Percy depth. We learned more about Annabeth’s character, like her fatal flaw and all that. We even got to know Clarisse better. I totally appreciate the secondary character development Mr. Riordan, but if you don’t give Percy some more depth soon he isn’t going to be the person I am rooting for the most. Which makes him being the main character kind of inconvenient.

I am already about 25% of the way through The Titan’s Curse, so look out for that review in the next couple days!

***

Want to know what I though about The Lightening Thief? Click here!

6 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

  1. Keep reading… Percy’s depth does show up! You know that girls mature faster than boys do, so naturally Annabeth had to have her revelations sooner! LOL. I just love this series and I’m glad you are too!

    I’m almost finished with Dracula… it’s taking forever! But, when I only get in about 30 min of reading a day, I guess it’s not going too badly!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

