Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

TopTenTuesday

If you have never come across a Top Ten Tuesday, it is a weekly feature hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. They post a different top ten topic every week, it’s pretty cool.

This week’s topic is the best/worst series enders. I could only come up with 3 for both, because let’s be honest, series are a ton of reading. Plus you have to actually finish one to have an opinion on the last one, which also means that the series has to be over. I am not even sure I have read 10 series that have finished! Anyway, so I cheated a little. It’ll be okay 🙂

Best

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. No explanation required.

2. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. This book has everything that I never knew I ever wanted in a book. Perfect ending.

3. Fever by Lauren Destefano. Bittersweet and beautiful. If you haven’t read The Chemical Gardens trilogy, you should get on that.

Worst

1. Requiem by Lauren Oliver. Just click the link if you don’t already know how I feel about it, or we could be here all day.

2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. I love this book. I do. But I absolutely hate how it ended. But I love how well it was written. But I hate it. But I love it. UGHH.

3. Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer. The book series where no one ever dies but everything is supposed to be life or death.

What were your best/worst series enders?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. I managed to get through the Twilight books because they were fast reads, everyone was talking about them, and I could borrow them from a friend. But none of them were, in my opinion, particularly good.
    Harry Potter made my best list, too. I’m a sucker for a happy ending.

    Like

  2. The last Narnia book makes my worst list. CS Lewis didn’t write it as a story, but as an analogy of the final judgment where we get to enter Heaven. I can appreciate what he tried to do, but as a story it was tedious.

    Another worst (top of my list) is Wilbur Smith’s The Quest. I enjoyed the first three books in his Egyptian series, but the last one was just plain weird.

    Best series ender? Forward the Foundation by Isaac Asimov. It’s the seventh book in his Foundation series and, while it takes place between books one and two, Asimov wrote and intended for it to be read last and it so neatly wraps up the series that after reading it the first time I didn’t want to read anything else for a while.

    Like

    • I read the Narnia books when I was really young. I don’t even really remember the last couple books to tell you the truth, but I don’t think I would have realized what Lewis was doing at that age. I probably just thought it was drawn out and boring. I bought an anthology of the series a while ago, intending to re-read them. Maybe I will eventually get to it!

      I haven’t even heard of the other two series you mentioned, but now I am itching to find out about the Fountain series. I love books that leave me lingering on then and not wanting to read anything else after for a while. I will have to look into them. A 7 books series? That’s exactly what I need to add to my huge TBR pile! 🙂

      Like

      • Foundation, not Fountain 😉

        It’s Sci-Fi. Don’t know if you’re a fan, but it’s as good a place as any to start if you want to try the genre. The first book is Prelude to Foundation, though it was written sixth. It’s actually part of a bigger saga spanning fourteen books and a bunch of short stories (three series: Robots, Empire and Foundation – I haven’t been able to get hold of all the Robots and Empire novels yet) and Asimov didn’t write them in order. The first Foundation book written is Foundation, but Asimov later positioned it as the second book.

        Forward the Foundation chronologically falls between Prelude and Foundation, but it was written last and I believe should be read last as well.

        Sorry for hi-jacking your comments like this, but I really like these books 😉

        Like

      • Hi-jack away! I totally read it first off as Fountain, not Foundation. I wish I could say it was a typo, but apparently I just can’t read today! I love sci-fi anything. I lean more towards that than fantasy even. I’ll have to check them out for sure!

        Like

Leave a Reply

