Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

The_titan's_curse

 

“Kidnapped?” I tried to get my mind around that idea. “How would you kidnap an immortal goddess? Is that even possible?”

“Well, yeah. I mean, it happened to Persephone.”

“But she was like, the goddess of flowers.”

Grover looked offended. “Springtime.”

I have to say, The Titan’s Curse is my favorite PJO book so far! We meet so many new people in this one, it’s crazy. Right off the bat we are introduced to Thalia (daughter of Zeus), demi-god siblings Bianca and Nico, and then pops up Artemis and her Hunters. One Hunter in particular, Zoe Nightshade, becomes a main player in the quest Percy is sent on. Basically, Artemis and Annabeth are kidnapped by Luke and a real heavy-hitter of a monster. As per usual, Percy and the gang have to save them or else all Hades breaks lose and the gods go to war with the Titans…again.

You would think that it would get old. The whole we-have-to-stop-Kronos-from-rising-every-book thing. Honestly though, it works. It’s along the same line of Harry Potter needing to stop Voldemort in every book (except Prisoner of Azkaban). It works for the series to have an underlying main goal, but to have different individual battles in each book.

The only thing that I didn’t love about this book was the lack of Annabeth. She is one of my favorite characters, and I was bummed we didn’t hear anything from her for most of it. I guess that’s the downside to having secondary characters in a different place, and only the POV from the main character. Who by the way, you guys were right about. We do get more Percy depth in this one!

I was hoping by the third one though, the reading level would have changed. But I think that while the characters are going to mature throughout the series, the reading level is going to stay at a middle-school level for the whole series. Which is what it is. There needs to be series for middle-school ages to read and enjoy! The grown-up in me was just hoping for a more adult feel to the series down the road. It does that sometimes. Pesky grown-up.

By the way, does anyone else get confused by the character relations? Like, Artemis and Apollo are twins right? They are the children of Zeus. So technically they are Thalia’s brother and sister. Same with Athena. Daughter of Zeus, so niece to Poseidon. Which makes her Percy’s cousin. Does that make Percy and Annabeth second cousins? It makes my brain hurt.

I have The Battle of the Labyrinth in my TBR pile, but I may need to knock some others off of my currently reading pile before I crack it open. If my self-control holds that long 🙂

***

Check out what I thought if the first two books in the PJO series:

The Lightening Thief

The Sea of Monsters

 

4 thoughts on “Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

  1. It is a great book! No, the reading level doesn’t change, but for me, I enjoyed it because I could just blow through the books… and it is one of the few books I’ve purchased and kept, I don’t think I’ll get rid of that series any time soon!

    Now, after you finish it, you might have to read the other series Rick R wrote, that was along the same lines – I haven’t been able to try it yet, as I’m afraid it won’t be as good!

    Like

    • Are you talking about The Kane Chronicles? If so, I picked up the first book in that series The Red Pyramid and it is in my TBR pile. Even though I will probably finish Percy Jackson and get through The Heroes of Olympus before I crack into it, I found it at my local bookstore in hardback, used for only $3! How could I not pick it up? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

