Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Was Forced to Read

TopTenTuesday

If you have never come across a Top Ten Tuesday, it is a weekly feature hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. They post a different top ten topic every week, it’s pretty cool.

 

 

This week’s topic is about the top books you were forced to read. I am going to assume that means the top ten good books you were forced to read? Yeah, let’s just focus on that to deter from the ranting that may ensue otherwise.

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Who doesn’t have this on their list?

2. The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell. Technically this is a short story, but whatev. This was the first time I ever witnessed an entire classroom completely engrossed in the required reading. Plus it was short, so when we read it aloud it wasn’t tedious. If you haven’t read it, you should. It is basically about some hunters that go to South America to hunt some big cats, but end up staying at this crazy guys house who sets them loose and hunts them. The hunters, not the cats. It’s like Hunger Games on steroids.

3. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. Back in high school, my husband  actually made me read it. Which is odd, thinking about it. Because he really isn’t a huge reader, and he was even less of one in high school. I’ll have to ask him about that. Anyway- it’s really good, as if being penned by John Green didn’t make that obvious.

4. Go Ask Alice by Anonymous. My English teacher in high school told me that I needed to read this, and the it subsequently got passed around to most of the girls in my class (we were all huge readers, still are really). This book is terrifying. It is a diary about a girl who gets hard-core into drugs. I actually never want to read it again, but have a copy on my bookshelf at home, in case I think I need to lend it to someone. It’s like Scared Straight in a literary format.

5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I was late jumping on the bandwagon for the series. All three books were out before I had even thought about it, but my best friend Shay was basically like “You need to read these before you do anything. How have you not read these? What have you been doing with your life? Blah blah blah..”. So me and Morgan (the hubby) decided to download them on audio and listen to them as we drive from Utah to Missouri for my brother’s Basic Training grad. I don’t know how I managed to not have them spoiled by then, but we went into it just knowing that they were good, but not even a clue on the subject matter. I just remember us looking at each other about 10 minutes in like this:

DeanWhat

6. Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This was a blogger suggestion. So many people were raving about it, and rightfully so. I absolutely adored this book. I kind of gushed about it for like a week straight. It’s just so beautifully written. My quote post on it is borderline copyright infringement, I am pretty sure.

7. Wither by Lauren DeStefano. I wasn’t forced to read this, but it was bought for me for my birthday last year. The whole Chemical Gardens Trilogy is brilliant if you are looking for a new series to jump into. Plus all of the books are out, so no waiting between publications 🙂

8. The BFG by Roald Dahl. This was one of the first chapter books I ever read all the way through. My librarian actually told me I had to read it when I was having trouble picking out something from the Book Fair. You guys remember Book Fairs? Or those book orders we could take home and harass our parents with? One of my favorite things from childhood.

________

Okay, I could only think of 8 good ones. So the other two are going to be forced reads that I did not enjoy. I did not enjoy them at all.

9. When the Legends Die by Hal Borland. This one of those coming of age stories you read in freshman english. Maybe I was too young to appreciate it? Either way, it was absolutely painful to read.

10. A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck . I believe that I have ranted about this one before, so I’ll save you the repeat.

What books were you forced to read?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Was Forced to Read

  1. I wonder if it’s a coincidence that both forced reads you disliked have ‘die’ in their titles. Seems like a sign to me…

    Loved, loved book fairs, even if I couldn’t get all the books I wanted. An Abundance of Katherines made it to my book stack because I read The Fault in Our Stars and then decided to read every other book that man ever wrote. I read Go Ask Alice, too, because it was one of the titles on my banned book bracelet, and I wanted to have read them all.

    Like

    • Have you read Looking for Alaska yet? That was my first into to John Green when I was in the tenth grade. I have been obsessed ever since 🙂

      You’re right. It’s probably a sign. The funny things is, there isn’t really a ton about death in those two books. Maybe I just don’t like authors who try to draw people in with pretentious titles that make the book seem a lot ore interesting than it really is? 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to read The Most Dangerous Game, but haven’t yet.

    So you and your husband dated (or were friends) in high school? My husband and I are high school sweethearts as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

