Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (Spoiler Free!)

NeverFade

“I feel like I’m losing my damn mind, like your face has been carved into my heart, and I don’t remember when, and I don’t understand why, but the scar is there, and I can’t get it to heal. It won’t go. I can’t make it fade. And you won’t even look at me.”

Guys. This book. If you haven’t read The Darkest Minds yet, you need too. It has been a while since I have been into a series enough to have a proper mourning period between books. But this. I about died at then end. WHY IS THE THIRD BOOK NOW OUT YET?

As far as I know, the third book is just set to be out in 2014, but no date has been set yet. I also read that the titles are going to spell out a sentence after the third is released. How cool is that?

The darkest minds never fade ______? What do you guys think it’s going to say? I haven’t the foggiest.

We get a ton of new characters in this one (my favorite being Vida, btw), and living up to her writing in The Darkest Minds Bracken doesn’t let us down with the character development. I can’t say enough about how well she writes her secondary characters. Seriously, with a single POV narrative most authors spend little to no time on side characters because they really haven’t given themselves the format for it. Well, they should start taking notes because Bracken is proving them all wrong. And she is doing it beautifully.

This book will break your heart, and you’ll let it. Over and over and over again.

Never Fade is just as good as The Darkest Minds, if not better. It being the second book in the series, it is tough to do a review of without it being spoilery. If you have read The Darkest Minds, but haven’t read Never Fade yet…. just prepare yourself to be engulfed. Its one you won’t be able to put down for sure.

If you have read it, skip on over to the spoilery post about it so we can have a chat. Maybe we should start a support group or something? This mourning period is going to be a touch one, I can tell already.

 

5 thoughts on “Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (Spoiler Free!)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get My Hands On! | thebookboozer

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read in 2013 | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

