M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman

MisForMagic

M is for Magic is a collection of short stories by Neil Gaiman. I like to call this his ‘kid friendly’ collection. I am reading Smoke and Mirrors right now, and while it contains a couple of the same stories as M is for Magic, it also includes his more ‘adult’ stories.

That being said, there is one story in this collection called Troll Bridge, that may be a little mature for some readers, so just be cautious if you are thinking of buying this for a child’s birthday or something like that.

The story list is as follows:

The Case of the Four and Twenty Blackbirds 

Troll Bridge

Don’t Ask Jack

How to Sell the Ponti Bridge

October in the Chair

Chivalry

The Price

How to talk to Girls at Parties

Sunbird

The Witch’s Headstone

Instructions

My favorites happened to be: The Case of Four and Twenty Blackbirds which is set up like a 20’s gangster crime novel, but all of the characters are from fairy tales, October in the Chair which is about all of the months of the year coming together around a campfire (which apparently happens annually) to tell stories, and of course The Witch’s Headstone. If you don’t know the full story about how The Graveyard Book came to be, it as first written as a short story that later became chapter 4 of a the novel. The Witch’s Headstone is that short story.

Sidenote: Those who have read The Ocean at the End of the Lane, the witch in The Witch’s Headstone is named Liza Hempstock. Coincidence? I think not.

I find that listening to Gaiman’s books on audio is the best way to experience them. Now, that doesn’t mean that I don’t go out and buy the printed version just in case I want to read them off the page by any means. I happen to have a copy of Coraline on my shelf that I have never even opened. You know, just in case.

It is also important to note that I mean listening to the books with him narrating. There are some of his books that he has yet to narrate himself, such as American Gods and Anansi Boys. But there is something so special about hearing the words and stories just as Neil intended them. How they were in his head when he was creating them and writing them down. Plus, c’mon, that voice. I could listen to him read me to sleep every single night for the rest of my life.

Also, I found this gem this morning. I’m not even going to tell you what it is because I will fangirl for probably 5 paragraphs, at least. Just watch it. Thank me later.

** I had the video embedded here but then WordPress was going all crazy pants and wouldn’t change my featured image for the post so you couldn’t click on it beacuse it would just play. Blah blah blah. Long story short, just click the link. It works the same 🙂

5 thoughts on “M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman

  1. Pingback: M is for magic…. | Leave It Be

Leave a Reply

