Champion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu (SPOILERS!)

I would just like to open this up by saying, most of this probably isn’t Champion’s fault, or Marie Lu’s fault for that matter, but timing’s. And probably mine. I have just been blowing through a couple dystopian series lately, and it just so happens that a couple of them have ended recently *cough* Allegiant *cough*, that ended in a way that I hated didn’t exactly love.

I know that it is probably incredibly hard to end a series in general, let alone a dystopian. The genre is defined by multiple plots that more than likely involve some kind of in-depth corrupt government, and our hero/heroine not only needs to save themselves, but piece and entire country back together. Not to mention that they are usually in their late teens. Not exactly an easy task.

BUT COME ON.

Is there no room for happy endings anymore? You can go ahead and say that they ended up together in the end, but I’m not buying it. I needed more. The story needed more.

I loved reading Champion. I know some people got a sad vibe throughout the whole thing because of the whole Day-is-dying thing, and they didn’t like the ambiance that threw over the whole novel. But I actually loved that about it. It made it more real, more terrifying.

But for the love of geezus, don’t make our hearts ache through the whole thing, just to end it with him not even remembering her.

And why in the hell didn’t anyone stop her? Tess or Eden or Pascao could have piped in and said that it was a terrible idea, or at least broke down in one or two years and told him the truth. It seemed pretty out of character for Tess not to say anything too BTW. Just sayin’.

Like I said, it’s probably not Champion‘s fault I am so jaded about the ending. I am completely acknowledging that, but it doesn’t really change anything.

Can we just please get a follow-up story? Even a novella would be nice.

Honestly though, even then, I’ll still be pissed about it. Ugh.

What did you guys think?

***

Check out what I thought about Legend & Prodigy

Also, quotes!

11 thoughts on “Champion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu (SPOILERS!)

  1. Pingback: Champion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu (Spoiler free!) | thebookboozer

  2. I was thinking about the Champion’s end.

    Why Daniel wore the ring?

    I believe that Daniel remembered June at the time she was dating the Anden. That’s why he took so long to return to the Republic.

    Like

  3. i was also very irritated w/ the ending. ps; i thought u did a great job at professionally stating ur opinion with out sounding obnoxious and whiny.

    Like

  4. PLEASE, OH PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER BOOK!!!! I NEED TO KNOW THAT DAY AND JUNE GET BACK TOGETHER. I NEED IT WRITTEN. PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER BOOK!!!

    Like

  5. I cried until the very end, when they got back together. I wanted to read more, but I knew that she would probably not make a follow up story, but, hey, u never know right? Any way, this happens to any author who has killed someone off, or In this case, proclaimed someone to die in the very end. What happens is that you are so sad, that you get pissed at the author for making u sad, but, what makes a good book is one that gives u emotion

    Like

  6. I agree completely. I needed more and I needed his memory to come back like a few days later or something. Can I find one series with a happy ending other then harry potter??????

    Like

Leave a Reply

