Chapion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu [Quotes]

Even the illusion of June is enough to send a stabbing pain through my chest. Hell. I miss her so much.

*

What’s the point of keeping in touch with the girl you’re crazy about, when you’re dying?

*

Please, don’t let it be her. Please, let it be her.

*

To keep myself calm and occupied, I’m carefully entwining four straightened paper clips in my lap to form a small ring.

*

“Where I come from, we’re more about efficiency,” he replies. “A knife like this’ll skewer food, smear butter, and slit throats all at the same time.”

*

He pulls the door open. His expression hardens right before he steps out of the room. “And if for some reason the Republic tries to take Eden by force, I’ll turn the people against Anden so fast that a revolution will be on him before he can blink.”

*

“Hey— with your metal leg and half a brain, and my four leftover senses, we almost make a whole person.”

*

“You’re wrong,” I say sadly. “It makes perfect sense.”

“Why?”

“Because Day chose to walk in the light.” I turn my back on him for the last time. The door opens; the cell’s bars make way for the hall, a new rotation of prison guards, freedom. “And so did Metias.”

*

June laughs. “I have to say, you look better than most people I see. I’ve heard a lot about you.”

“I hear about you a lot too,” Eden replies in a rush, “mostly from Daniel. He thinks you’re really hot.”

*

“Sometimes, the sun sets earlier. Days don’t last forever, you know. But I’ll fight as hard as I can. I can promise you that.”

*

Without emotion, what’s the point of being human?

*

Day, the champion of the people, the one who can’t bear to see those around him suffer on his behalf, who would gladly give his life for those he loves.

*

“Too bad everyone in the Republic isn’t a soldier,” he mutters. I open my eyes.

Too bad everyone in the Republic isn’t a soldier.

*

“And what if they don’t respond to your call?” June says.

I shoot her a quick smile. “Have some faith, sweetheart. The people love me.”

*

Without his father’s shadow in the way, he’s beautiful. “I’ll do my best,” he whispers.

*

 When I reach the entrance and a pair of lieutenants ushers me inside, then pats me down thoroughly for any weapons, I just smile politely at them. If the Chancellor wants to see me intimidated, he might be disappointed.

*

“The Republic is weak and broken.” I narrow my eyes. “But it is still your country. Fight for it. This is your home, not theirs.”

*

There’s a voice telling me to get up. When I look to my side, I see a boy holding out his hand to me. He has bright blue eyes, dirt on his face, and a beat-up old cap on, and at this moment, I think he might be the most beautiful boy I’ve ever seen.

*

2 thoughts on “Chapion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu [Quotes]

  1. Pingback: Champion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu (SPOILERS!) | thebookboozer

  2. Pingback: Champion: A Legend Novel by Marie Lu (Spoiler free!) | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

