Quoting the Quill #6

 

EmotionalTraumaI found this image on Pinterest and it linked back to TheMetaPicture but dead-ended from there. So as much as I would like to give credit to the original source, I can’t seem to find it. If you come across the post and it happens to be your image, feel free to claim it in the comments, and also, thank you.

I feel like all of the books I have read in the past month have left me broken-hearted, to put it mildly. That is one reason why I love this blog, the people who read it, and the camaraderie in the book blog community. We all experience the pain together.

Because supporting each other in self-inflicted emotional trauma is totally normal.

Right?

Right.

***

Quoting the Quill is a Meme hosted over on Blogs-of-A-Bookaholic every other Wednesday. Or every Wednesday if you want :) You can find more information about it here.

12 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #6

      • I’m totally stalking you.

        Haha, just kidding! You had mentioned it in a comment a while ago. Something about your boyfriend recommending them? I think it was on my review of Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly.

        Are you enjoying them? My friend was way into them in high school, but isn’t there like a billion books in the series?

        Like

      • I definitely freaked out for a minute there…and I was like, wait, when did I say that? lol

        Yes, my boyfriend did recommend them. I’m on the third book now. I haven’t been able to stop. I think there are 12 or 14 books in the series. My boyfriend told me he just wanted me to read at least the first one to get the feel for books he likes and hopefully be able to recommend others, but once I got started, now I’m dedicated (even though he warns me something happened in one of the upcoming books that made him stop reading them…We’ll see when I get there.

        Like

      • Haha I’m not a creeper, I promise!

        That sounds intense, 12 books? I may have too big of commitment issues for that!

        What would you compare them too? I just have a hard time with high fantasy, like LoTR, but have been able to trudge through the first book and half of the second of the Song of Fire and Ice series.

        Like

      • Haha I believe you.

        It is rather intense. That was what I said when my boyfriend told me to read them. I was like, “what? You didn’t tell me there was 12 of them!”

        I would say they are in between LOTR and Song of Fire and Ice. There is magic and and dragons and the like in the series, about also a lot of political wars and struggles going on. Terry Goodkind has definitely created a rich world for his characters.

        Like

  1. Self-inflicted trauma indeed. I can still remember the first time I read Dumbledore’s death scene. And after the Red Wedding I didn’t touch the book for two days.

    If discovered an interesting flip-side: writing scenes that will potentially traumatise readers are surprisingly therapeutic.

    Like

    • I’ve heard that from quite a few writers, actually. Good to know someone is benefiting from my pain! 🙂

      For me it was Sirius’ death. For some reason I was more “okay” with Dumbledore’s death, but when Sirius died I was done. I was like 12 years old and just bawling. I remember reading the bit at the end of The Deathly Hallows where Harry uses the resurrection stone and being so upset because I was still in denial up until that point about Sirius being dead. I was convinced he was going to show back up.

      And I haven’t gotten to the Red Wedding yet, but I hear (from the entire internet) that it is pretty intense. Still trying to trudge through A Clash of Kings!

      Like

  2. You may have been 12 when you read about Sirius’ death… but I was years older and still in tears. I was NOT expecting Dumbledore’s death either and I sobbed like a baby!!

    And yes, I look around and wonder why no one else is curled up on the floor rocking back and forth after I finish a good book/series!

    Like

      • They are!!! Those characters become part of my world, I reference them, I think about them… when they are gone it’s like a part of me is missing!!

        I’m a fan of the In Death series by JD Robb, those characters are amazing, and I hope Nora Roberts continues that series for many more years! I ask for Amazon gift cards for Christmas so that I can catch up on the books each year! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

