Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Would Recommend to X Person

TopTenTuesday

If you have never come across a Top Ten Tuesday, it is a weekly feature hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. They post a different top ten topic every week, it’s pretty awesome. All the cool kids are doing it.

This week’s topic is what books would you recommend to X person. It could be a family member, a reluctant reader, whatever you want. I am going to go ahead and steal an idea from some of the awesome posts I have already seen today (since this is going up later due to an earlier blog post needing to go up, and basic procrastination) and list the top ten books that I would recommend to my future children! Keep in mind, since these children are fictional at this point, they are basically unisex. I realize some of these lean more towards one gender, but hey- I’m not a fortune teller, okay?

1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. I was thinking about just using this as 1-7, but that would be cheating…right? At this point, this should all be self-explanatory. I don’t know one person who has read HP and not recommended it, or not enjoyed it. I’m not a parent yet, but if there is one two things I know for sure, my kids will be readers and they will read Harry Potter.

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. One of the best feelings is finding out you have already read a book on your required reading list in school! It not only takes the weight off a bit, but (at least in my case) made me realize that I shouldn’t have such a negative attitude towards the books I was ‘forced to read’. Plus, it is a beautiful story that I think is written in a way that allows younger readers understand some pretty serious themes.

3. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. This is the book that I wished existed in my childhood. It is one of those books that has a story that is so entertaining that you don’t realize that he is slipping in bits and pieces of learning. This book covers everything a kid could possibly go through: discrimination, abandonment, confusion, identity, right versus wrong. Plus, can you get them started on Gaiman too early?

4. The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. It is not secret how much I adore this series. Friendship, love, action, adventure, loyalty, and a love of everything books. I included this series because I want to know how reading can make you feel. That they can make you blissfully happy and excruciatingly sad at the same time.

5. ANY I-SPY BOOK EVER CREATED. These books were like… half of my time as a kid. You better believe that I can spot a button in a pile of toy soldiers, safety pins, paper clips, floss, and confetti starts though. 

6. Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan. I can’t recommend the whole series yet, because I haven’t finished it, but I can for sure recommend the first 3 🙂 This series has everything that you expect in a children’s book series, but let me tell you- I have immensely more knowledge of Greek mythology than I did before. Which would have came in handy in school. Future children, I am just trying to be practical okay? It’s hard to recommend you things when I don’t know your personalities. Work with me.

7. The Book Thief my Markus Zusak. Another book I wish I would have read much sooner. I hope that my kids have the same appreciation and respect for the past as I do.

8. The BFG by Roald Dahl. A giant who blows wish bubbles into the windows of children to make sure they don’t have nightmares? Every kid needs a good fairy tale.

9. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Warner. I was obsessed with this series in elementary school. I couldn’t tell you any of the actual stories because it was so long ago, but I was a pretty smart kid so I am sure they were wonderful. I do remember that I thought it was pretty awesome that these orphan kids got to live in a train car and solve mysteries all day. Now that I think about it, it is actually pretty sketchy. We are taking a little leap of faith on this one future kids. But they were written in the 20’s and I liked them in the 90’s, so I think it is still a solid recommendation.

10. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I thought long and hard about which John Green book was going to make the list. Apparently I want to inflict even more emotional trauma on my kids than what they would receive from #4. However, I do think that #4 leans more in the female direction, and this one is pretty unisex. That is how I am justifying it. I’m going to be a terrible parent. You should probably start praying for my children while they are still fictional!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Would Recommend to X Person

Leave a Reply

