Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying to Read

TopTenTuesday

If you have never come across a Top Ten Tuesday, it is a weekly feature hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. They post a different top ten topic every week, it’s pretty awesome. All the cool kids are doing it.

This week’s topic is all about the Top Ten 2014 releases you are just can’t wait any longer for!

1. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. Like that wasn’t going to be obvious.

2.Untitled (The Darkest Minds #3) by Alexandra Bracken. Although it doesn’t have a title yet, or a release date, it is set for “sometime in 2014”. Here’s to hoping sooner, rather than later.

3. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Hopefully I’m all caught up by the time it comes out!

4. The Iron Trial (The Magesterium #1) by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. The vague description is all we have, and I don’t even care. All you have to say is Cassandra Clare and I’m in.

5. Harry Potter Encyclopedia by J.K. Rowling. (I have heard this is happening in 2014, but I have also heard that it isn’t. I’m going to tell myself it is because it makes my heart feel all warm and fuzzy)  Not sure this needs explanation. Plus, all the royalties go to charity because Jo is a badass.

6. Rooms by Lauren Oliver. As far as I know, this is going to be a stand-alone, so hopefully it isn’t the trainwreck Delirium turned into. Plus I have been told that I need to read Before I Fall because it is amazing, so I’m guessing that her track record for stand-alone’s is already pretty good. Plus it’s about ghosts. I’m a sucker for ghosts. This is your last chance Oliver, prove me wrong please.

7. Rogues by Various Writers edited by George R.R. Martin. Okay, so really this is kind of misleading. I don’t really want to read Rogues, just one short story entitled How the Marquis Got His Coat Back by Neil Gaiman. He has been promising this story since not long after Neverwhere was released and readers started pointing out that the Marquis de Carabas appeared to get his coat back after it was assumed to have been lost, without explanation. He promised to explain it in a short story almost a decade ago. Luckily, I didn’t read Neverwhere that long ago, so I haven’t been waiting that long. Still, the prospect of anything new from Gaiman makes me happy 🙂

That’s about it for me! There are some sequels coming out in series that I have yet to start, such as Cress and Gods and Monsters. Hopefully I will get the prequels to those done soon so I can add those to the list!

What books are you excited for in 2014?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying to Read

  1. I get the feeling that I should read Percy Jackson. It sounds like the perfect series for me…I was obsessed with Greek mythology as a kid. There was this illustrated book of the twelve gods on Mount Olympus that I borrowed pretty much every lunch time. I think, after my exceedingly long list of new books plus my desperate need to re-read The Hunger Games, I will have to give this one a go. Oliver is releasing another book? Seriously? Her editors didn’t tell her to bugger off? Interesting…but, yeah Before I Fall is amazing. So maybe she’s back on her game for this one?And CoHF? I had head March…but it’s actually May! Clare is killing me. As for the Magesterium…I’m not too sure about that one. I don’t know exactly why…

    Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2013 16:53:29 +0000 To: funkee_becky@hotmail.com

    Like

    • I was nervous about starting Percy Jackson, but ended up loving them. They are quick reads, and definitely for middle-school aged readers, so you just kind of have to overlook that. I have been told that the spin-off series, Heroes of Olympus is written for an older crowd, so I am sure once I get to those I will like them even more.

      Oliver is actually coming out with 2 new books! She has another one called Panic, but it didn’t really look that interesting.

      Cassie keeps changing it all the time, so I haven’t even bothered to check. I just keep telling myself Spring 2014 to make myself feel better about it 🙂 I am excited for the Magesterium. I’m interested to see her write mainly from a male POV, and I also thought it was interesting that it’s a 12-year old, rather than her usualy 16/17 age group. Is she writing it for a younger audience?

      Like

      • I might check out Heroes of Olympus first and go from there. But I do love Greek mythology. 🙂

        And you have to be joking. That means she sold enough of that train-wreck of a series to warrant more books on her contract! She doesn’t deserve them! Damnit,

        Oh, she’s writing a guy? Interesting…and 12 years old? She might be aiming for younger readers. But then again, Harry was 11 when we met him properly for the first time, and everybody loved those books. And the new Neil Gaiman is from a younger perspective, isn’t it? Maybe we just have to wait and see….

        Like

      • Very true. The main character in The Ocean at the End of the Lane is only 7, and it is definitely not a children’s book. I guess we will just have to be patient and hope that it is just as amazing as Cassie’s other stuff!

        Like

      • I got that today! It finally came in the mail. Along with a book I found called “Fangirl”. I think it was written about my life.
        And it’s Cassie…of course it’s going to be amazing. But it won’t be unadulterated Cassie. That’s what has me worried.

        Like

      • Oh really? Awesome 🙂 I am really looking forward to that one. I’ll let you know once I’ve read it!
        And more unadulterated Cassie would be awesome. Can’t wait until this month’s Bane Chronicles!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

