The Bane Chronicles: The Last Stand of the New York Institute by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

TBCTheLastStand“Let me see, how does your little bedtime story about how super-duper extra special you all are go again?  .  .  . Ah, yes. Through the ages your mandate has been to protect mankind, to fight against evil forces until they are finally vanquished and the world can live in peace. You don’t seem terribly interested in peace or protecting anybody. What is it that you’re fighting for, exactly?”

“I am fighting for a better world for myself and my son,” said the woman called Maryse.

“I have no interest in the world you want,” Magnus told her. “Or in your doubtless repellent brat, I might add.”

Let’s just rename this installment of The Bane Chronicles to “The One Where Everyone Who Has Ever Been Mentioned in the Shadowhunter World Gets A Name Drop and/or Shows Up“. There. Now that I feel that the title is much more accurate, let’s move on.

We first catch up with Magnus in New York, 1989. The Circle is at it’s height, but they still have the majority of the Clave thinking that they are killing Downworlders because they have broken the Accords, rather than just murdering them because they are gigantic assholes and think they are better than everyone.

As you would imagine, Magnus has his first run in with the crew while they are attempting to slaughter a pack of innocent werewolves. We see the Circle as we never have before, still enraptured by Valentine’s charisma. Luke is pre-werewolf bite still, and the irony of the situation at hand is not lost on the reader. Robert and Maryse, whom I have never really been fond of, are there as well. Then there are the ones you didn’t expect you would ever get to interact with as a reader, Stephen Herondale and Michael Wayland. It is almost eerie.

Things and stuff ensue, and I don’t want to give anything away. It is all very exciting, albeit anti-climactic because you know who is going to live, having read about events almost 2 decades later.

Then comes the exciting bit. Fast forward to 1993, and who is at Magnus’ doorstep? Jocelyn Fairchild and her baby daughter. We learn about things we never even knew we were missing. Like, why Tessa looked familiar Clary at the end of City of Glass in Alicante, and why Jocelyn chose Fray as their new last name.

I loved this one. But, you all know how I feel about TID characters showing back up. Jem and Will even get a name drop in this one!

Here is all of the quotes that I loved, as always.

***

Check out what I thought about the other Bane Chronicles out so far!

What Really Happened in Peru

The Runaway Queen

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale

 The Midnight Heir

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort

Saving Raphael Santiago

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And That You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway)

3 thoughts on “The Bane Chronicles: The Last Stand of the New York Institute by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson

  1. I just finished this!!! I loved it. The dialogue between characters in the first story felt a bit forced but other than that, so much love.

    Tessa’s t-shirt? That was a twist of the knife to the heart though. And I always KNEW there was a link between Fray and Gray. I KNEW it.

    The Great Catsby almost made me laugh out loud on the bus home. And after the day I’ve had, that is saying something!!!

    Like

    • I agree about the dialogue. I think that sometimes I feel like I can tell when a certain section has been written by Sarah or Maureen. They are both terrific writers, I just feel like Cassie knows the characters better, ya know?

      I had never even thought about Gray/Fray! Took me by total surprise. And I don’t even want to talk about Tessa’s t-shirt. I still miss him too much.

      Bahaha! Magnus and his freaking cats. I’m glad it made you laugh, and I hope that today is going much better!

      Like

      • I think Cassie has tonnes and tonnes of paper stacked up somewhere with all of the back stories for all of the characters. If she published them, they’d sell SO FAST. I wonder how many little scenes she’s written with all of the characters….

        A surprise would have been nice! I was too suspicious for my own good. I thought the names were too similar to be a coincidence. And that shirt, man. 😦 But hopefully we get to see Tessa be happy with Jem in The Dark Artifices. Even if it’s just a scene or two.

        I wonder what other extraordinary names Magnus gave his cats over the years….

        Like

Leave a Reply

