Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I Have Never Read

TopTenTuesday

If you have never come across a Top Ten Tuesday, it is a weekly feature hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. They post a different top ten topic every week, it’s pretty awesome. All the cool kids are doing it.

This week is all about popular authors you have never read. At first, this was kind of hard for me, and I was feeling like I was pretty well cultured. But then when you think of one, you think of all of them and you realize quickly that it’s a big world out there!

1. Orson Scott Card (Ender’s Game) To be honest, I am probably not going to ever read these. They just aren’t my cup of tea. Plus, I live in Utah, so everyone everywhere recommends them to you. So maybe this is just my quiet rebellion? I know that’s not rational, but it’s how I feel.

DeanShrug

2. Lee Child (Jack Reacher) My brother absolutely loves these books, and I am pretty sure that the last book that he has ever actually liked (maybe even read) before these was To Kill a Mockingbird back in high school. I have never really been able to get into military-type actions, but these might be worth a try some day.

3. Sarah Dessen. Basically I only like books that make me cry when I don’t know that they are going to make me cry before opening to the first page. I have friends that rave about Sarah Dessen, and I am sure she is a fabulous writer. I just can’t handle all of the emotions sometimes.

4. Kiera Cass (The Selection) These ones I will read eventually. I promise.

5. Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me) Same with these. If anything, just for the covers. They are stunning!

6. Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles) These ones are actually coming up pretty fast on my TBR list. Totally my cup of tea, just haven’t gotten to them yet.

7. Michelle Hodkin (The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer) This is one of those that you kind of get that “hide under the table” feeling when you admit you haven’t read.It’s just… It’s just… I have no excuse.

DumbledoreShrug

8. Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy). Vampires. Maybe one day, but probably not.

9. Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl) I KNOW! IT’LL HAPPEN!

10. E.L James. She is only making the list because she is popular, and I haven’t read her. That won’t change, not matter how many hordes of Twilight fanfiction lovers come after me! You shall not pass.

YouShallNotPass

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I Have Never Read

  1. haha yes, I will never read anything by E.L James or anything by any author like her (i.e dark covers with ribbons or petals or shoes where some whiny girl discovers “a darker side of herself” via a controlling rich male who likes kinky sex. No thanks.

    Like

      • I used to work in a shop which sold books (I say that and not “bookshop” because they only sold chart fiction) and the summer of 2012, i kid you not, the entire chart wall looked exactly the same. All dark covers. All warped symbolism via flower petals, ribbons, shoes, rings and crumpled sheets. All with horrible corny titles. Oy vey. It pained me to actually sell them haha!

        Like

      • Yep! I would suck my breath, smile and say “…you really don’t want to know my honest opinion, it’s safer that way ha ha”. They laughed too. Most people don’t even read the books, they just buy them because they believe they are popular apparently, and don’t finish them- bit of a sad vicious circle, isn’t it!
        Thanks for the follow- always nice to find like-minded book lovers :3

        Like

  2. Not only have I never read any of these authors, with the exception of #1, 2 and 10 I’ve never even heard about any of them. My dad has several Lee Child novels, so I’ll probably borrow one of them at some point.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read any of these either except the first two VA books which were decent – from what I heard, Shatter Me and Mara Dyer glorify certain unpleasant things so won’t be reading them. The Lunar Chronicles sound amazing though!

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed the Lunar Chronicles, and can’t wait for the next one.

    Gone Girl made me very angry, though. Can’t say why without spoilers, but… I found myself wishing I could reach into the book and erase one character from existence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

