Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

DOBAS

From Chicago to New York, London to Beijing, from the museums’ wildlife dioramas, from the frozen, snarling mouths of lions and wild dogs, the jaws of Komodo dragon specimens and ball pythons and stuffed Arctic wolves, the girl, the phantom… she was stealing teeth.

How do I even explain this without any spoilers?!? Oh, by the way, this is the second book in the series, so if you haven’t read the first one.. continuing might be a poor choice. Go read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and then come back, k?

First off, this book is long. Much longer than the first book. However, I loved that it was long. I feel like it have more than enough space for the story to take it’s time and not be rushed, but also not drag on and on and on. It kept me engaged the whole time. But, there is so much that happened in this book that I just had to go back and re-read my review of Daughter of Smoke and Bone just to remember where it had ended so that I don’t give away anything important.

The things that I can tell you:

1. We get more of Zuzana and Mik in this one. They are basically the most hilarious couple  I have ever read. I just got done reading Night of Cake and Puppets, which is a novella all about their first meeting/date/swoon-worthy treasure quest, and it is adorable (you can read it before Days of Blood and Starlight or after, it doesn’t give anything away) Snarky-ness ensues throughout their time with Karou, and doesn’t ever get old. I love these two.

2. We get to know Liraz and Hazael more, and their relationship with Akiva becomes even more prominent and important. We get to see a side of him that we didn’t get in Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and his character really develops through his relationships with his brother and sister.

3. The mysterious Stelians become even more mysterious. The more Taylor mentions them, the more she leaves us in the dark. As beautiful as Akiva, with more strength, cunning, and magic that Joram’s Seraphim? MORE PLEASE. If they don’t play a role in Dreams of Gods and Monsters, I am going to be so disappointed.

4. Yay for new characters! We meet a new chimaera, who I can’t really tell you a ton about other than he is also Kirin. *queue mystery*

5. Taylor shifts perspectives and writing styles so many times in this book. Sounds like a mess, but it totally works. You’ll know what I mean when you read it.

That’s about it folks. I will maybe do a spoilery post later on if you guys want me too so we can discuss things. There will for sure be a spoilery one when Dreams of Gods and Monsters comes out. BTW, look at this cover:

GAM

I AM SO EXCITED!

***
Quotes!

One thought on “Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Have Read So Far in 2014 | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

