The Bane Chronicles: The Course of True Love (And First Dates) by Cassandra Clare

TBCCTR

“Aw, man, I’m really sorry,” said the mugger. “I wouldn’t want to mess up anybody’s first date with a ninja.”

Well, this was perfect. Where do I even start?

First off, it’s no secret that I am a Malec fan, but it’s not because I love both of the characters. Magnus Bane is my favorite character in the whole Shadowhunter world. I love his snarkiness, style, and sass. However, I have never like Alec Lightwood. I always found him arrogant and whiny. From the second he bashed Clary’s head against the wall in TMI I was like alright asshole, you’re officially on my Do Not Care if You Get Killed Off list.

Well damn you Cassie for making me like him now. Getting to see Alec through Magnus’ eyes is a lot different than through Clary’s. I always thought she gave Alec too much credit and too many chances in TMI, but that is her nature most of the time. The thing that made no sense to me was that giving someone too much credit (for the most part) was not Magnus’ character at all. Sure, he tended to have a soft spot for Shadowhunters, and did a lot more for them than some of them ever deserved, but he was still a pretty good judge of character. So why, did he fall for Alec and not Jace?

Well, in this installment of The Bane Chronicles, we get an explanation. And it makes sense. I have always viewed Alec as the weak one, even when Cassie described him as the defender. He had never killed a demon before because he was too busy making sure Jace and Isabelle didn’t get themselves killed while they were killing demons. I just never bought it. Especially after reading Will and Jem’s parabatai relationship in TID. I get that it is different, Will and Jem only had each other so that of course made their bond stronger. But still, the parabatai thing is just a passing mention in TMI. I still only say Alec being in love with Jace and being an asshole about it to everyone, including himself.

But seeing that through Magnus’ eyes, for some reason, made me buy it. He describes him as a defender, strong and able, but making the conscious choice to protect the people that are with him rather than get the glory for killing the biggest baddest demon. Maybe it is because I trust Magnus’ character more than I trust most in the Shadowhunter world.

And then there is the makeout scene in which, well, just go read it. You will not be disappointed, I guarantee it.

Last, but not least, can I get an Amen for Cassie writing on of these on her own? I am not saying by any means that Maureen and Sara have not done fabulous jobs, because they truly have. But I would be lying if I said you couldn’t notice a difference. There is just nothing like an author writing her own characters solo.

I am so sad that this is the last Bane Chronicles, but I know that it means that we are so close to City of Heavenly Fire that I just about can’t handle it. Making us wait two years is right up there with Moffat, Cassie!

***

You know you want to seem them 🙂 Quotes!

One thought on “The Bane Chronicles: The Course of True Love (And First Dates) by Cassandra Clare

  1. She introduces the personalities (if a little more youthful) who
    will certainly be the main concentration of her next collection (The Dark Artifices) allowing you to obtain to know them and fall for them along with
    getting a hint about exactly what the collection will have
    to do with so once again the Shadowhunter globe does
    not really feel shut off after finishing and you’re left counting down the days
    till the next book is out before you have actual also shut this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

