The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (Quotes)

After the song finished, I said something.

“I feel infinite.”

And Sam and Patrick looked at me like I said the greatest thing they ever heard. Because the song was that great and because we all really paid attention to it. Five minutes of a lifetime were truly spent, and we felt young in a good way. I have since bought the records, and I would tell you what it was, but truthfully, it’s not the same unless you’re driving to your first real party, and you’re sitting in the middle seat of a pickup with two nice people when it starts to rain.

*

I hope it’s the kind of second side that he can listen to whenever he drives alone and feel like he belongs to something when he’s sad. I hope it can be that for him.

*

The outside lights were on, and it was snowing, and it looked like magic. Like we were somewhere else. Like we were someplace better.

*

I think it was the first time in my life I ever felt like I looked “good”. Do you know what I mean? That nice feeling when you look in the mirror, and your hair’s right for the first time in your life? I don’t think we should base much on weight, muscles, and a good hair day, but when it happens, it’s nice. It really is.

*

It was an old 45 record that had the Beatles’ song “Something.” i used to listen to it all the time when I was little and think about grown-up things. I would go to my bedroom window and stare at my reflection in the glass and the trees behind it and just listen to the song for hours. I decided then that when I met someone I thought was as beautiful as the song, I should give it to that person. And I didn’t mean beautiful on the outside. I meant beautiful in all ways. So, I was giving it to Sam.

*

It’s kind of like when you look at yourself in the mirror and you say your name. And it gets to a point where none of it seems real. Well, sometimes, I can do that, but I don’t need an hour in front of a mirror. It happens very fast, and things start to slip away. And I just open my eyes, and I see nothing. And then I start to breathe really hard trying to see something, but I can’t. it doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does, it scares me.

*

As I was walking up the stairs to my dad’s old room, and I was looking at the old photographs, I started thinking that there was a time when theses weren’t memories. That someone actually took that photograph, and the people in the photograph had just eaten lunch or something.

*

I just remembered what made me think all of this. I’m going to write it down because maybe if I do I won;t have to think about it. And I won’t get upset. But the thing is that I can hear Same and Craig having sex, and for the first time in  my life, I understand the end of that poem.

And I never wanted to. You have to believe me.

*

Craig said the problem with things is that everyone is always comparing everyone with everyone and because of that, it discredits people, like in his photography class.

One thought on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (Quotes)

  1. Pingback: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

