The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

ThePerksOfBeingAWallflower

Yes, I am just now reading this book. Yes, I do know that is kind of crazy.

Yes, I did love it.

Here is the blurb for the other two of you out there who have also not read it yet:

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

At first I didn’t know about Charlie. I didn’t know if I would ever be able to relate to him, because I wasn’t that kid in high school that was a wallflower. No one really was. I didn’t go to a school that had “popular kids”, “band nerds”, “outcasts”, or “jocks”. We were all of those things. All of us were on the same level. I was lucky that way.

Charlie, on the other hand, is not. He has to wade his way through high school like it is uncharted territory. He is awkward, at times depressed, unsure of who he is or where he fits in. However, there is one thing that we know about Charlie that he doesn’t really know about himself, even at the end of the book.

Charlie is one of those rare people. One of those people who know nothing other than being heartbreakingly genuine. His sincerity in every aspect of his life comes through every page in this book.

So, by the end of the story did I find myself relating to Charlie more? I wish I could say yes, but the answer is no.

The more important thing is that a fictional 16 year-old high school freshman boy made me sad that I couldn’t relate to him, because he was such a better human being that I was at 16. Shit, than I am at 24.

Here is to hoping that the next person who picks this book up and reads it feels the same way.

***

As always (and by always I mean most of the time) Quotes!

4 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

  1. I am so glad you finally read this!!! I loved this book so much. Have you seen the movie as well? Changed my fangirl life, I swear. And the ending of this book? Oh. My. God.

    Like

    • I haven’t! I was forcing myself not to watch it until read the book!

      The ending was definitely unexpected. Like, way unexpected. I didn’t see that coming at all!

      Is it bad that I am in such TMI mode right now that when I read that whole bit about Clary’s Sight coming back and Jace responds with “Then you’ll see the world as it is-infinite.” Then Clary scolds her for quoting William Blake at him and says everyone knows that quote because of the Doors. I was like HOLY SHIT it was totally a Doors song that they were listening too in The Perks of Being a Wallflower!

      Haha this may be becoming a problem.

      Like

      • You so need to. Because the guy who wrote the book directed the movie and he made changes to his own story!!! So it forced me to realise SOMETIMES the changes in movies are OK.

        OMG I NEVER MADE THAT CONNECTION! I mean, I recognised the quote but I never put two and two together. I loved that bit in CoB because Jace was trying to impress Clary with his Blake knowledge and Clary just shuts him down and tells him the quote is pop culture. It’s lovely!

        Shadowhunter obsession…it may have to be recognised as an actual mental health condition…

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Have Read So Far in 2014 | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

