Renegade by L.A. Wilcox

L. A. Wilcox Renegade
There are just three rules to being a time traveler.
1. Do not, under any circumstance, interfere with your environment during travel.
2. Do not attempt to carry other persons or large articles during travel.
3. Keep your talisman on your person at all times.
When time traveler Andrew Simmons loses his talisman in pre-revolutionary Boston, he must race against the clock to retrieve his only way home. Everything is on the line – family, love, freedom, honor, and quite possibly the future. But as time reveals a long line of dark secrets, Andrew realizes he must save more than just his skin. He must also save his kind.
Time travel and action? Count me in! You guys know that I love me some Doctor Who, so basically anything time travel is right up my alley. Want to hear a confession? Somewhere in Time has been one of my favorite movies since I was a little kid. I guess you could say I have a soft spot for time travel in general. So how in the hell have I not read a time travel novel until now?!
Renegade started off kind of slow, and I got worried that everything would get rushed into the end and all of the character development would have been for nothing. However, once I realized that  Renegade was the first in a series, I relaxed and just enjoyed the story!
As with any story set in the future, there is a whole new world for you to take in. The mix of futuristic technology like holographic screens with the nostalgia of Dr. Pepper is a fun experience. We usually picture the future 50 years from now to be all Artificial Intelligence and flying cars. We forget that the normal things, like Dr. Pepper and pizza will more than likely be there too!
Then, right when you get used to the future, you get thrown into pre-Revolutionary Boston. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in History, and have a soft-spot for anything having to do with the American Revolution. I absolutely loved being in that world! Laura captured the language and feel of that era with perfection.
Renegade is also not missing any action. It is definitely a page turner, and reads very smoothly. By the end, I was begging for more! I would recommend Renegade to readers who love fast action, mystery, history, and even dystopian!
Did I mention, Laura is also a wordpress blogger? If that doesn’t already convince you she makes good decisions, I don’t know what will. Check out her blog here!

 

2 thoughts on “Renegade by L.A. Wilcox

  1. Yay time travel! I may have to add this to my FTBR (Future To Be Read) pile because my actual TBR is INSANE. Seriously, I don’t think I need to be another bool until about…September?

    Though I probably will haha

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Have Read So Far in 2014 | thebookboozer

Leave a Reply

