The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

THE-NIGHT-CIRCUS

Opens at Nightfall

Closes at Dawn

Yes, I do realize that is a gigantic image. But seriously, can you blame me? It’s gorgeous. Just like this book.

The first thing I will tell you about The Night Circus, is that in the beginning it will seem confusing. Not only the narration changes from chapter to chapter, but the time period does as well. Time tends to not even move chronologically in this novel. At first, it will be distracting. Give it time, and you will absolutely love it. It adds so much depth to this book that I can’t even describe it. I definitely have not read anything like it in the past, and may not in the future either.

This wasn’t a book that I couldn’t put down. In fact, sometimes I wanted to put it down, just for the sake of being able to pick it back up again later. It reads leisurely, but in the best way. While there is a huge riddle to be solved, you want to take as long as possible to solve it because then you know it will all be over. The experience will be finished and the circus will be gone.

One thing that Morgenstern did that I find particularly interesting is that she took the time in between story lines to give you your own. It reads in first person, with no date or year given. It’s just you, as you experience the circus first hand. You know when you are seeing someone be hypnotized, and the hypnotist is describing a scene to them… “okay, now you walk into the room. You turn left and see a chair sitting in the corner…” That kind of thing? Yeah, that is how she wrote these chapters. It is absolutely brilliant.

The other thing that I loved was that you get so many different perspectives, it’s hard to tell who the true main characters are. I don’t want to give too much away, but Poppet and Widget were by far my favorites to follow.

Also, I would highly recommend getting the audiobook of this is you are a listener like me. I read most of the book in print, but I absolutely love listening to books as I fall asleep and didn’t want to have two books going at once. I just load up my Audible app and throw that bad boy on a timer and let myself be read to sleep like I am a toddler. I am not even ashamed of it. Oh, did I mention it is narrated by the one and only Jim Dale? Name ring a bell? Probably because he has won about a billion awards for his amazing narration of the Harry Potter series. Dude is good.

I would recommend this book to anyone, really. But especially if you love a good steampunk, which let’s face it, who doesn’t? The Night Circus takes you to so many different places around the world that it will leave you with a sense of wanderlust almost as strong as the craving you have now developed for salty-sweet caramel corn.

2 thoughts on “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. I have wanted to read this book for ages! I’ve read the first couple of pages so many times while in the book shop. And it’s Steampunk? Fantastic.

    I also loved that turn of phrase you used: “it reads leisurely”. That was gorgeous!

    Like

  2. This is one of my favourite books because my god, the use of imagery is absolutely wonderful.

    It stared at me in bookshops for months before I finally bought it! I plan on re-reading it later this year so I can get a decent review up other than “JFKLDSJFKLS READ IT” lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

