The Book Blogging Test

I was tagged by the wonderful Bec over at Infernal Imagination to do this Book Blogging Test. If you aren’t already familiar with Bec, then you must be new here! Welcome! We have bonded over our mutual love for everthing Doctor Who, Cassandra Clare, or Neil Gaimain and tend to both gush it out on our blogs. Or each other’s blogs. Whichever one is more convenient and appropriate at the time. If you like my blog, you will definitely enjoy hers. Go check it out yo!

What are your top three book pet hates?

1. I really really dislike when I see people throwing books away. I realize this is more of a people hate than a book hate, but I think it still counts. I remember when my High School would go through they books every year or two and de-self those that had not been checked out in more than 5 years. This was to make room for new books, as it was a small library in a small school. I get it. They would then make a table full of all of the books that they were going to get rid of, and students were free to go through them and take whatever struck their fancy home with them. Pretty cool right? I though so! Half of my bookshelf looks like it is full of stolen library books because of this. The thing that was horrible about the whole thing was that the books that did not get saved were then trashed. How horrible is that? Once I found out what was happening, I tended to take home 10 more books that I even needed or wanted, just to save them. I felt like I had to do something. Sure, they are now just sitting on my shelf and haven’t been opened still, but at least they aren’t in a landfill or something right? Maybe one day they will be the book that I need at that point in my life, and I will be grateful that I rescued them. At least that is what I tell myself every time we move house and I have to box them up and carry them. Books are heavy dude.

2. Books that horrible romance-y covers, but turn out to be phenomenal stories, with little to do with romance. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. I know. I get it. But c’mon, who actually doesn’t judge a book by it’s cover? Plenty of times I have picked up a book that seemed mediocre from the blurb, but the cover was stunning. Most of the time those books end up being wonderful. If someone puts that much effort into creating a cover that is so beautiful, the same amount of effort was probably put into the story, and vice versa. If I am walking down an aisle of books and there is section full of half naked men on the covers, I am probably walking right on by them. Some of those books could be wonderful! I am sure someone sitting behind a desk somewhere was thinking, “yeah, women love half naked men. Let’s throw one on the cover and then they will definitely buy it!” Well guess what? I’m not that woman! So stop!

3. Book to movie adaptations gone wrong. Which is most of them.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

I know it sounds weird, but I love reading in the car. When I’m not driving, obviously. I love to travel, and with living in a semi-desolate state with family spread out all over we tend to be in the car a lot. I don’t get carsick reading in the car or on planes or any of that, but I do have a really hard time falling asleep in the car or on a plane. My husband can basically sleep anywhere, it is kind of ridiculous. So when I bring a good book with me, I can get lost in it and a 3 hour drive passes like nothing and I never have time to complain about being bored or uncomfortable.

Tell us three book confessions.

I kind of covered this in a Top Ten a few weeks back. It was more of a blogging confessions, but since I primarily blog about books it was pretty book oriented.

1. I dog ear pages. Like all the time.

2. I’m not crazy organized with my books. I was looking at my bookshelf yesterday and realized that I had PJO books on like 3 different shelves. I guess it’s just not a priority for me.

3. I prefer used books over new ones. They are just more comfy, ya know?

When was the last time you cried during a book?

CoHF. So like, 3 weeks ago? I just love my TID characters, okay?

How many books are on your bedside table?

Just one currently. American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

What is your favourite snack whilst your reading?

I am kind of messy, so I try to avoid reading and eating at the same time. Drinking while eating though, that is a different story. Chai tea, or regular tea, is usually my go-to.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone.

Well, just pretend like you didn’t already know these, okay?

1. The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare.

2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

3. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Show us a picture of your favourite bookshelf on your bookcase.

It’s obviously my Cassie Clare shelf. They are just so purrrty. I will add a picture if I get a chance before this gets posted. But ya know, I might just decide to have a baby before then 🙂 Seriously, come on out bro. WHENEVER YOU FEEL LIKE IT. Or now. Now would be great.

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Adventure. Escape. Inspire.

What is your biggest reading secret?

My brain gets really excited and it wants to read ahead, like a lot. Sometimes when I turn a page I have to literally cover the right hand page with my hand so that my eyes can’t read ahead. I have no control sometimes lol. I always regret it.

I am Tagging…

1. booknerdie

2. thebookheap

3.Tanya @ Read. Run. Study

Feel free to copy and paste this tag even if you weren’t tagged. Tag me in the post so I can go read it! I love book tags!

2 thoughts on “The Book Blogging Test

  1. Omg you would be due soon! Whoa, how you feeling?

    Is it just me or were our top 3 remarkably similar…? And you have a Cassie Clare shelf? Brilliant idea, I will get on that when I have a bookshelf of my own again!

    My worst reading habit is that I skip to the last page. Especially if my characters are in trouble. CP and CP2? I read the last page. Not that it really spoiled anything in CP2. I like to know my people are going to be OK. I really shouldn’t do it though…

    And you are finally reading American Gods? Yay!!! Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

