Quoting the Quill

“…And there are always people who find their lives have become so unsupportable they believe the best thing they could do would be to hasten their transition to another plane of existence.”

“They kill themselves, you mean?” said Bod. He was about eight years old, wide-eyed and inquisitive, and he was not stupid.

“Indeed.”

“Does it work? Are they happier dead?”

“Sometimes. Mostly, no. It’s like the people who believe they’ll be happy if they go and live somewhere else, but who learn it doesn’t work that way. Wherever you go, you take yourself with you. If you see what I mean.”

I know I haven’t posted in a while, but I needed this today. I’m also posting from my phone, because I also need a new computer charger.

Unfortunately we lost someone last night, and that is never an easy thing. I’ve always thought it was easier to describe my feelings through other people’s words. Its part of what makes me a reader. This time it happened to be Neil Gaiman in The Graveyard Book. If you have been around the blog a while you know I adore that book and it means a lot to me.

I’m not going to elaborate much on the situation. Just that I hope he is part of the sometimes. I truly do.

5 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill

Leave a Reply

