Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin

RosemarysBaby

So, I am in this book club with some friends and girls I work with. Our last club meeting was right before Halloween and we were all amped to read something creepy. So we thought, Hey! Rosemary’s Baby! Wasn’t that made into a movie? And it was written in like the 60’s right? A horror classic? Sure! Why not! Let’s do it!

CasIRegretNothingGif

If you are looking for a book that will scare the begeezus out of you, look no further. You guys know I love a good scare, and I have been hunting for a classic horror novel that actually does that ( I know some won’t consider something written in 1965 a classic yet, but hey, I’m not one of those people. Also, based on the amount of work that Rosemary’s Baby ultimately inspired, makes it a classic in it’s own right anyway). Frankenstein and Dracula did not do that for me. Like, not even at all.

If you are looking for a book that makes you want to literally crawl out of your own skin, this is it. The suspense in this is perfectly executed. There is never a lull that you have to wade through, it takes you smoothly throughout the plot while everything just escalates and escalates and escalates.

Levin’s writing is so modern too. If you took away the references to the pop culture of the time, or the “Hey, since I’m pregnant now, I’ll have to remember to ask the doctor how many cocktails is too much” thoughts, and someone asked me when I thought this book was published, I would say post 90’s for sure.

The story is a pretty well known one so I am not going to go too much into that here. What I will say is that the version that I downloaded on my kindle had an introduction by Otto Penzler and it was awesome. Read it. It will cue you in on so many inside jokes Levin slipped into the novel that are down right hilarious. Like constantly referring to the play Drat! The Cat! which he wrote for broadway.

All in all, I seriously recommend this book to anyone who isn’t too squirmish. It will make you feel uncomfortable, scared, paranoid, and you will love every second of it. Until the end. Then this will occur. JohnNotOkayGif2

4 thoughts on “Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin

  1. Hello hello! Welcome back to the blogosphere, we’ve missed you! I reckon Rosemary’s Baby is definitely a classic. I count the Beatles as classic rock so a book from the 60s? A classic for sure. Will be skipping this one, though. I can’t handle horror. Like, at all. And the more gruesome, the more likely it will be that I will give up midway. On a side note, I didn’t realise Rosemary’s Baby was a book before it was a movie. I shouldn’t be surprised though!

    Like

    • Thanks! Ive missed you!There is really only one gruesome bit in it. The rest of the horror is more along the lines of “DEAR GOD DID THAT JUST HAPPEN?” But if you don’t like horror, you probably won’t like it. I knew it was a book before, but didn’t realize that most of the stuff Levin has written was done visually at some point or another. He actually writes in multiple genres too. Have you ever heard of The Stepford Wives? He totally wrote that! He won some Tony’s for his playwriting skills, and even wrote a song for Barbara Streisand.

      Like

      • He wrote Stepford Wives? I love that movie! It was so clever!!! I am so going to find this book now!
        I love that, when they did Rosemary’s Baby as a movie they stuck to the novel! WHY CAN’T MODERN MOVIE MAKERS DO THIS?!?!

        Like

    • Thanks! Ive missed you!There is really only one gruesome bit in it. The rest of the horror is more along the lines of “DEAR GOD DID THAT JUST HAPPEN?” But if you don’t like horror, you probably won’t like it. I knew it was a book before, but didn’t realize that most of the stuff Levin has written was done visually at some point or another. He actually writes in multiple genres too. Have you ever heard of The Stepford Wives? He totally wrote that! He won some Tony’s for his playwriting skills, and even wrote a song for Barbara Streisand!

      Like

Leave a Reply

