An Evening With Neil Gaiman

Yeah, you read that title right.

IMG_20150418_173022

When someone poses the age old question, “If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would it be?”, who are your three people? It takes me about .00001 seconds to answer that one, and it is the same three people every single time. J.K. Rowling, Steve Nash, and Neil Gaiman (all of whom happen to still be alive, because I like my goals to be realistic ;)).

IMG_20150418_191435

Well, I didn’t get to have dinner with him, but I did get to see him in person, answering questions and talking about his work for two hours. DREAMS CAME TRUE PEOPLE. He also didn’t do a meet and greet because he is a busy person and had to be in a different city the next night.

It was honestly, one of the best experiences I have ever had. I mean, not above like the birth of my child and getting married and all that, but its top ten. It just solidified how much respect and admiration I have for that man. My husband, whom only has read Gaiman because I force him to fall asleep listening to my audiobooks and make him listen in the car and make him listen when I love a part and read it out loud to him and well you get the point. ANYWAY. I was very interested to hear what he thought afterward, and was trying to gauge his reactions during it but I couldn’t get a good feel for if he was enjoying it. After it was over and we were walking out of the auditorium, I asked him what he thought. He looked right at me and said, “that was absolutely amazing.” And guess what, like usual, he was so right.

IMG_20150418_194409

I know it looks like we were super far away, but really only about 30 rows! It was a small auditorium, and the single spotlight in combination with the camera on my phone was not the best.

On the way home we got to talking about our thoughts on what was discussed and Gaiman’s work and when he asked me why I liked him so much, I was at a loss. It’s like the words are there in my brain, but I can’t get them all out in the right order. Maybe writing it out will make more sense. Stay with me people. It’s like, you know when you are growing up and you think everything your parents say is true, and you never question why or how. You belong to the same religion, you have the same political affiliations. Well, my parents were not like that. They did a very good job of letting me decide for myself who I was, and what I believed. They didn’t steer me to one specific ideation, or one specific political party, just because they belonged to it. Awesome, right? I think so. But while that fosters a life of independence, it also takes away the feeling of security, knowing that you “aren’t the only one”. You never begin to question what you think because there is always someone there, parents, siblings, friends, that can reinforce that truth. Reassure you that you are on the right path. Well, I never had that. I never had someone that I thought believed the same things I did, and had the same views on the world. Until one day I picked up Stardust and you know the rest.

Did that make any sense? I know it sounds like some creepy soulmate shit, but it’s not. I promise. That’s like thinking your brother is your soulmate because you have the same points of view. It’s just sometimes when someone asks him a question, and he answers it, my brain goes; THAT. YES THAT. THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT I WAS THINKING.

For example, during his interview he was asked about a quote he had included in the intro to (I believe) Fragile Things in which he stated that the people who really scare him are the people who believe in their own rightness. The interviewer wanted to know what he had meant by that. Gaiman answered, and I’m obviously paraphrasing here, that when he was younger he knew that in stories there was always the good guy, and the villain. However, in the stories the villain always knew he was the bad guy. In life though, that isn’t always the case. He went on to talk about how the really scary thing about ISIS is that as much as you want them to be the bad guy, they are absolutely certain that they are the good guy. That what they are doing is “the right thing”.

My brain: THAT. YES. EXACTLY.

Make sense? Hopefully.

He also said things like: “I think religion is true, like national boundaries are true” and “England has history, America has geography.”

 EXACTLY.

Also, Gaiman opened up a lot about Terry Pratchett, and his feeling following his death. He talked about a lot of things that he had never spoken about before. While this was obviously sad, he told the funniest stories about Terry. You can tell that those two had a serious bond. Also, I totally think that there is something Good Omens-ish in the works right now because he was seriously cryptic and alluding to things.

My favorite part of the whole night was at the end, when he closed with a reading of his choice. He chose to read one of his favorite passages from Good Omens, that contained one of his favorite lines from Terry in the whole book. It was amazing.

Luckily, KUER_FM, a local radio station, posted the audio of the interview as well as the Q&A that followed here. 🙂

Also, my review of his newest collection of short stories Fragile Things, will be up tomorrow or Monday. Sorry guys, life is freaking busy! Also, I apparently can’t quit giving myself projects and piling more on my plate. Which is why I just opened an Etsy Shop. Obviously. 🙂

One thought on “An Evening With Neil Gaiman

  1. That’s a beautiful explanation as to why you love Gaiman. Mine is just a seriously Hulk-like envy of his way with words and his amazing imagination! Listening to Gaiman speak would be outstanding. I don’t think that there could be words to describe it. I still haven’t watched the videos you sent me because I haven’t had the time to properly appreciate them. Maybe I’ll listen to the audio before bed…? Still so so so JEALOUS that you got to be in the same room as Neil Gaiman!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

