The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

theboneseason

I was a mollisher, the protegee of a mime-lord. My boss was a man named Jaxon Hall, the mime-lord responsible for the I-4 area. There were six of us in his direct employ. We called ourselves the Seven Seals.

It has been a while since I have been able to lose myself in a dystopian novel. Lately, they all seem to follow the same path. Heavier on the romance than the world building. Which is not a bad thing, its just the same thing. Sometimes, it’s nice to get back to a story that the romance is secondary and the action is drawn to the forefront. Before I jump on into my thoughts about it here is the summary from goodreads!

 The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

Paige’s world, although complicated and harsh, is so easy to jump into. You start off knowing absolutely nothing about the state of the world, what kind of society this dystopia is built on. Shannon does an amazing job of easing you right into it. She starts using slang and phrases that are new to you right from the get go, and I don’t hate it. Some books, like The Maze Runner, try to do the same thing but fall short a bit. You have all these new words and have no idea what they mean or what to make of them, making you hesitate. The Bone Season doesn’t hesitate. Shannon is so sure of the world that she built that it flows through the pages. Her confidence is apparent, as it should be.

The  character building in this story is everything you would want it to be. Paige is complicated, but not confusing. You guys know I talk all the time about secondary character building, and how important I think it is. The secondary characters in this book are amazing. Some of them you get to know for maybe a total of a page collectively through the whole book, and you fall in love with them. That kind of building is so so important! When you only care about the protagonist, you don’t care about the world that they live in, which is so contradictory in a dystopian! My favorite secondary character in The Bone Season is Michael. If that guy doesn’t at least get his own short story, I might die a little inside.

I know I said that the romance takes a back seat in this one, and it does, but that does not mean it dissapoints 🙂 you will love some of the men in this one, and hate others. But you will love the right ones, if you know what I am saying 😉 It isn’t without it’s steamy bits.

I know with dystopians reviews are more like teasers, because I want to keep it as spoiler-free as possible, but trust me on this one you guys. It’s good. I mean really really good. I’m pretty excited to start the sequel, The Mime Order, but I’m gonna take a break and read And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie for my book club first! So you will see a review on that one up before The Mime Order. I’m also listening to The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard on Audible because I like to bite off more than I can chew 🙂

Also, go follow @thebookboozer on Instagram! All the cool kids are doing it.

Last Review: Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

Etsy Shop: Night&Day

Leave a Reply

