Back in the Swing

I’ve started this blog three different times today, and I still have no direction. What I do have is spit up on my sweatpants, a slobbery baby on my lap, and one clean hand to type with while simultaneously using it to drink my luke-warm cup of coffee.

All of that makes it sound like I’m in a bad mood, doesn’t it? Well, my friends, that is misleading. It is snowing, Caroline is full of baby giggles, and I’m semi-watching Once Upon a Time which means I am understanding nothing, but catching up none the less.

When I started this blog my setup looked much differently. I would sit down with my coffee and breakfast, in a quiet house, at the table. I can’t even remember the last time I did anything at the table that wasn’t actually doing something for someone else. Less in the creating a service project kind of way and more in the feeding a baby and/or keeping markers from flying down into the livingroom kind of way.

Now, I have to make myself a mental note that I should blog today. It’s right next to my mental note that there is no more toilet paper in the upstairs bathroom. Which is less of a reminder and more of an aw shit I need to put toilet paper in there every time I walk by it. But it will get done eventually. After all of the more important things.

Just like this blog.

The important things just look a little different now too. They aren’t papers or reading or tests. They are cuddles and laughs and laundry.

My point is that life looks different now, and this blog will too. Bear with me while I find my voice again.

For now, just enjoy this picture and try to look at life the way that Caroline looks at a hamburger. I know I will.

 

hamburger

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Back in the Swing

  1. I loved this post! It was incredibly atmospheric. So I have absolutely no doubt that you’ll find your voice sooner rather than later!

    Ahh, the Once Upon A Time conundrum: realising that you’ve already forgotten every other storyline from episodes past and have to piece together the characters’ lives from the snippets they give you in the new episodes.

    And, as always, it’s good to have you back in the blogosphere!

    Get Outlook for Android

    Like

Leave a Reply

